Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Changing knock sensor with axle stands only?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Changing knock sensor with axle stands only?

    Is it easy/possible to change the knock sensor on a Z16XE just with axle stands? It's tucked right behind the inlet manifold and pipework and looks like it would be better done on ramps?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    stevej66's Avatar
    Tech Advisor/Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    on the sofa
    Posts
    7,074
    Mentioned in
    52 Post(s)
    Quoted
    240 Post(s)
    ramps is the best option mate, but if you can jack it up and set the axle stands to their highest point then it is possible to shimmy under the car and get to the back of the engine

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Won't leave much room then, we struggled under the car with axle stands when doing the brake conversions. Might be better to leave this to the garage, cheers!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mike666's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,563
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    should be able to get under no bother. i got a whole exhaust on from head to back box with nothing but wee metal ramps haha was tight but about the engine was plenty space

Similar Threads

  1. Axle Stands
    By snitch in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-07-2010, 01:36
  2. Axle stands...
    By dr_shabzzz in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30-06-2006, 11:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •