Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Best way to change oil level sensor gasket?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Best way to change oil level sensor gasket?

    Hello guys whats the best way to change the gasket rubber on the oil level sensor??

    Its the part thats on the front of the engine onto of the sump??

    Someone said remove sump and it clips out?

    Is there any practically way is has to be done so i get it right?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    141 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Yeh the only way, to remove the sensor is via the sump.

    What you see on the top is the plug and connecter(which is held by a big circlip

    The actual sensor is bolted to the bottom of the sump, and has a wire to the plug connecter, the one that is visable on the outside

    Does that make sense?

    However the plug itself on compression by the retaining clip is the gasket ie it doesnt have a seperate gasket
    but if you have aleak maybe some oil repellant sealer will suffice

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks paula understood most of it just not the bottom section cheers

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    141 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Ok What you see ie on the top of the sump is a male and female connection only, the sensor itself is a connector in a rubber sleeve, with a flexy wire to the metal bodied bolted sensor.

    some pickies might help, but i hav't got any at hand

    What i'm trying to say is if you want to cure a leak then it might be just a easy to seal from the outside, maybe if your clever eneough, release the clip, but hold the plug so it doesn't fall through, clean up and seal, then reclampt it with the circlip.
    If all fails then remove the sump, and seal from the other end

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ok could try that but i thought you could only get the top bit out with removing the sump??

    I spoke to vauxhall and ordered a rubber seal thing red in colour that goes around the sensor?

    So i can actually get the top part out with out removing the sump then?

    Dont recall seing a clip or anything though?

    Whats the best sealent to use?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    141 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    hi No you cant get the top plug connecter out from the top, because its sleeve fed from the inside, and connected be wiring to the main part

    what i mean is it can be. released eneough, and push inover,(careful not to drop right through) eneough to put some sealant around then clip back up

    I use the vauxhall oil resistant gasket sealant stuff

    There is a big circlip holding the connector in place, it need to slide out the reccess

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well ive got the gasket on order so might aswell just change it?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Brian's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    141 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    If we are talking about the same thing
    then there isn't a gasket as such
    just a rubber ring seal around the plug

    Pikies:





    I hope i have helped

    I think what you have ordered is the red rubber ring,

    and can only be replaced by , the removal of the sump, as well as releasing the circlip on the top, and pushing the connecter through

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hello paula very helpful you are and yes its that red rubber is this the correct part?

    Thanks very much

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yup the red bit is the part you are hunting for

    White is the new Black

    FARMYARD TUNING

    LEH IS THE FUTURE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. low oil level sensor?
    By oatcakekev in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2013, 19:07
  2. oil level sensor
    By zaffyjay24 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-02-2013, 16:05
  3. vxr oil level sensor
    By Buddle in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-06-2009, 20:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •