Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cruise Control

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Brad210's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Cruise Control

    Recently bought a 2008 MK5 Astra 1.4 SXI. And have searched the forums, found lots of posts on cruise control. Seems to be mixed answers.

    Can this be fitted to my car?. If so how much?. Who can?.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im not an expert on the mk5 but should just be a case of getting a clutch switch, cruise control stalk and having the rest activated via Tech2

    Theres a couple of ppl on here who can do this for u but all depends on ur location.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Brad210's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im at sheffield. Anybody near my location that could take a look and potentially give me a price to fit it an tech2 it?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    alan_tre's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also do you have 2 add a button or something? how would you turn it on and off

    always wanted to know when ppl retro fit it how ya turn it on
    astra cdti 202bhp 323 lb-ft torque 45mpg
    audi tt 180bhp and no lb-ft torque lol

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    pewseyfam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    that would be the "cruise control stalk" geordiebandit mentioned

    T
    Viva HB(DL90), Escort Mk2(1.3L), Astra E(1.6L), Astra F(1.4Merit) Astra F(Arizona),Astra E(1.6GL), Laguna(2.0RXE), Astra F(2.0CDX), Astra G(1.7LS)!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    gazTD's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The buttons are on the end of the new indicator stalk. Get a garage to check and see if you have the clutch and brake switches. If you have, then all you need is a stalk with the cruise control buttons (about £35 from eBay), and then have it activated on Tech2 or OPCOM. If you haven't got the switches, then you'll need to have them fitted.
    Gaz

    No longer owns an Astra


    Bye bye VXR Castle Combe Edition - because it's done more laps of Castle Combe than most Bergs have of the Ring

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    pecky's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned in
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    With a 1.4 you need a stalk, clutch switch and a wire adding.

    It can be done 100%.

    Stampede is closest to you if you want to travel. I can add it, but won't be passing there for a few weeks.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Brad210's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah, i have checked for the clutch switch and its none exsistent. Can you do all the fitting? What sorta price we looking at? PM me mate.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18-02-2014, 19:01
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23-07-2008, 16:26
  3. fitting cruise control to non cruise control cars
    By sumner2k3 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-06-2008, 15:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •