Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Switching over radios - Code needed?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Riskoe's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Switching over radios - Code needed?

    I swapped the standard radio from my Astra for a Sony Bluetooth unit when I got the car.

    Now my cousins g/f has a Corsa with a tape player head unit, and I said she could have my old CD player one. Will she need a code for it when she installs it, as I cant remember if I ever needed one, and I don't have any paperwork from the car it came from, so if there is a code, I don't have it any more.

    If I do need one, where can I get it from? :\
    1.8 SE2 Coupe! Let the mods begin...

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Depends on whether the code function was left turned off or not.
    Only way to get the code is from the car security pass. You can order this through Vauxhall parts, but you need to produce the V5 for the car, it usually costs £20-30.
    Alternatively, if you know what dealer supplied the car from new you could try contacting them, they may have the codes held on file.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Riskoe's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man View Post
    Depends on whether the code function was left turned off or not.
    Only way to get the code is from the car security pass. You can order this through Vauxhall parts, but you need to produce the V5 for the car, it usually costs £20-30.
    Alternatively, if you know what dealer supplied the car from new you could try contacting them, they may have the codes held on file.
    So the radio will be matched to the car it came from? Or do I need the code of the car its going IN to?
    1.8 SE2 Coupe! Let the mods begin...

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Riskoe View Post
    So the radio will be matched to the car it came from? Or do I need the code of the car its going IN to?
    Its matched to the car it has come out of, I.E your Astra. It is this car you will need to speak to Vauxhall about to find out the code.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Riskoe's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,685
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by buckle View Post
    Its matched to the car it has come out of, I.E your Astra. It is this car you will need to speak to Vauxhall about to find out the code.
    Oh gay. It wont be worth paying for then, would be better to buy an after market head unit I assume.
    1.8 SE2 Coupe! Let the mods begin...

Similar Threads

  1. two way radios any gen
    By MatG in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-07-2006, 19:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •