Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Grundig SC303 - Possible to replace?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Reddwarf's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Grundig SC303 - Possible to replace?

    Hi

    I have a 1995 Astra 1.8 Sport, with a Grundig SC303 radio/cassette. It's playing up (previous posts seem to suggest the unit). So, a couple of questions please;

    Is a replacement available from Vauxhall does anyone know?

    Would another make radio/cassette or CD player just slot into the "mounting case" that the SC303 is in? I have pulled the unit out of its mounting case and of course, there’s not much to see, just a plug in the case and a corresponding plug on the unit!

    Apologies if this is basic stuff!

    Thanks

    Stephen

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It was replaced with the Car300....and supplied in cars as basic audio.
    You can get them cheap on eBay.

    I dont know if it fits in the same cage, I would suggest no.
    Do you have to keep the same stereo ?
    Do you want to upgrade to a CD/Radio unit (CDR500) ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Reddwarf's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Coo View Post
    .
    Do you have to keep the same stereo ?
    Do you want to upgrade to a CD/Radio unit (CDR500) ?
    Well, not necessarily. I confess that we do have a lot of tapes () but if pushed a Radio/CD would be as useful.

    At the time my manual was written (1995), the CD300 looked to be the CD version. Is the CDR500 a straight swap in the existing holder? What I really want to avoid is the complete dismantling of the car from the front bumper backwards to get to the dash!

    S

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Reddwarf's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Coo, or anyone, what's the situation with the CDR500. Am I right in thinking that its a relatively easy swap? I recall issues withe the remote display needing to be "re-programmed" to get info from a CDR500? Any advice gladly accepted!

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I will goto a scrap yard and see if there are any mk3's in there, and have a look.

    Unless someone on here can show us a picture, get connections for a mk3 radio/cassette...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You are right in thinking there are issues with the display because most the CDR500's are from MK4's which used a different number of digits on the display

    All you'll need to do though is hold down buttons 4 and 6 to swap between display outputs
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I popped into the scrappies today....

    If you want to stick to radio cassette there are plenty of Grundig Car 200 stereos, and usually can find the radio code with them.
    Pics (SORRY FOR LARGE PICS):





    Also there are loads of these Blaupunkt Car300 which looks like an upgrade from the 200's:


    PM me if you want something like this...

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The 200 will be 2 speaker only, 300 4 speaker output
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. CD 30 - Blaupunkt or Grundig?
    By karembu in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 23:25
  2. Grundig 200 for a Delco CDR 500
    By robertz in forum ICE Mk1|2|3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2009, 22:51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •