Thread: Exhaust Changing?????Please HELP!

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Arrow Exhaust Changing?????Please HELP!

I'm switching the full exhaust system back too standard, on a z20let. How easy is this to do? Is it possiable to do on my drive with axle stands etc.

I need to know what tools I need?

.....and a step-by-step walk through guide of the best way to do it?? All the way from the turbo-to-the back box!

Really need some help/advice.....im not a mechanic, but not stupid! lol

MANY THANKS PEOPLE!!

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    well i managed to change the centre section annd backbox on a 1.6 with the two rear wheels on portable ramps. abit of a squeeze but managed eventually. the main trouble i had was to split the center section form the downpipe.
    i ended up butchering the centre section to remove it.
    tools;
    13,14,15 socket and ratchet or spanners (pref deep ones aswell as shallow ones may not reach),
    wd40 or similar to help remove the nuts/bolts,
    hammer (if you dont mind battering things)
    exhause paste for refitting,
    not sure what else...
    maybe huge maul grips or pipe piliers to get a hold of center section pipe to release it,

not sure how the downpipes are to remove but for the others;

get the back end in the air,
    split the backbox from the c/s (14/15mm bolt) unless it's a sleeve type then a 13/14mm? socket for the 'u clamp',
    remove the b/b from the mounting donuts and get it out the way,
    remove the 'u clamp' that fastens the c/c to the downpipe,
    depending on how long it's been attached you may have to take a hammer to the center silencer (if it's got one) to get it free,
    as said i'm not sure on the downpipes so wont go into them
    refitting will be easier to go from front to back of car and depending on what state the donuts,clamps and bolts are in you may need new ones.