Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: how do i sync key (not original)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Hutchysrs50's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    how do i sync key (not original)

    i have 2 key fobs, both working (as in, the light on the fob flashes red etc.. when i press them)

    niether work with the central locking, i now know neither are the original key fobs, how would i go about syncing these keys with the central locking?

    i have the proper little chip thing that goes on the key aswell so the car starts nd everything.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If they have never been programmed to the car before your going to have to go to vauxhall to get them programmed in. You'll need your security code for this
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Hutchysrs50's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    If they have never been programmed to the car before your going to have to go to vauxhall to get them programmed in. You'll need your security code for this
    hey, they have been programmed to other cars, one of them was abit broken... so i just went down the scrappy and picked up another one that was working fine.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    But not yours................
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Hutchysrs50's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    But not yours................
    No, the one im typing to sync/program to my car is from a scrapped Astra.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rainey88's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorks
    Posts
    890
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah so what hes saying is the key you got from the scrapped car will be sync'd to that car and not yours. Else any old badger could go around opening peoples cars.... like said probably have to go to vaux and get it programmed to yours.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Hutchysrs50's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainey88 View Post
    yeah so what hes saying is the key you got from the scrapped car will be sync'd to that car and not yours. Else any old badger could go around opening peoples cars.... like said probably have to go to vaux and get it programmed to yours.

    well, not really... i only have the remote not the key, and you would still need axcess to the car to sync it.

    Thanks anyway.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Brashy's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    have you tried the normal sync ..

    put the key in . turn it to position 3 so all teh dash lights and warning lights come on. Press and hold the lock button and the car should lock and then unlock itself. then it should work.

    I cant see why it wont work..

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Hutchysrs50's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ride4life View Post
    have you tried the normal sync ..

    put the key in . turn it to position 3 so all teh dash lights and warning lights come on. Press and hold the lock button and the car should lock and then unlock itself. then it should work.

    I cant see why it wont work..
    hey, yeah, tried it...

    That only works with the original key fob, which i have... But is broken.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can't sync key with car
    By Norbert in forum Electrical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2014, 18:01
  2. key sync
    By turbo cabby jack in forum Car Chat (other marques/models)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2011, 16:46
  3. Key re-sync help
    By zMastaa in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2007, 22:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •