Thread: Fitting New Brake Pipes??

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Fitting New Brake Pipes??

my car (it's an Astra mk4 just in case you were wondering) failed it's MOT yesterday and it states that my N/S front brake pipe is excessively corroded and wondered if anyone has tackled this job before and can tell me how much of a b*****d it's gonna be??

is it gonna be worth me doing it myself of should i just send it into the garage to do?? i'm a hgv mechanic btw so am capable doing this in case you wondered

thanks in advance

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It will be the pipe around the chassis leg i bet,bit of a fidley crap job,you need to be good at pipe bending too and need the tool and a flaring tool and fittings
    "WHATS THE RETAIL ON ONE OF THOSE?" "MORE THAN YOU CAN AFFORD PAL . . . .888

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for the quick reply bud and yeah i can get hold of a flaring tool from an old work mate and the bending should be ok too it's just the fitting it through the holes and what needs to be removed in order to get at the pipes??

Status
    Tech Advisor/Moderator
    Mentioned in
    52 Post(s)
    Quoted
    240 Post(s)
    the near side front is very straightforward, i did mine last year with no real problems encountered, it was the o/s one that was the swine as it routes right across the back of the bulkhead and is a mare to route

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol that's the reply i wanted

i'lll have a crack at it tomorrow then maybe.

what/if anything will i have to remove to get to the pipe?? i'm assuming the fuse box for a start??

Status
    Tech Advisor/Moderator
    Mentioned in
    52 Post(s)
    Quoted
    240 Post(s)