Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Spanner light on no boost wots up

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    GSI-MOTORSPORT's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Spanner light on no boost wots up

    hi there ive got a spanner light coming on yesterday when i was boosting its makes the car go on limp mode but the light will goout on its own after 1-2 days later does anybody know wots up with her much appericated

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Burger Boy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,879
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    have you done the pedal test to see what fault codes it has bought up?
    Castle Combe Saloon Car Championship. Car 21, pug 106 GTI. Gone from track days to full on racing

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    at a guess it sounds like ur MAP sensor ( the one on the intercooler pipe ) is on its way out.. mine do this allot...

    as said tho... do pedle test and let us know the fault code
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    buzball's Avatar
    Supporting Trader
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Lol what is a pedal test cheers

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Rainey88's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scarborough, North Yorks
    Posts
    890
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just had to do it on mine mate , Hold both your brake and Throttle pedal in and turn on the ignition , spanner light will flash... 10 flashes is 0 and rest are the same like if its 0243 it will be 10 flashes, pause, 2 flashes , pause , 4 flashes , pause , 3 flashes.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    inmyvain's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,705
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    is the turbo in good condition?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GSI-MOTORSPORT's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im gonna do the pedal test i'll post when i know wot it is
    many thanks

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    GSI-MOTORSPORT's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I did the pedal test its 1106 map sensor wot now do i replace it ?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    ste_h_88's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    743
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its not the map sensor. its your actuator. id almost bet my life on it. its been altered to hold boost for longer. had the same code for ages changed loads of parts. look for how to reset your actuator its an absolute doddle.. you only need a small 10mm spanner. MAP sensor is close to £100 if you want to try that option though.
    Arden Blue Astra GSi




  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    sorry to be a dick but why are so many people on here insistant on ****ing about with there actuators all the time?

    there set how they are for a reason... if u wanna play about with it i would strongly suggest doing so carefully then cause i have seen to many people i know blow there turbos up months later cause they have ****ed with the actuator

    IF its throwing up a fault code for the MAP sensor then replace it.... IF it dont work then sell it ( to me as i need one ) and look at other avenues...

    to replace it you simply unplug it from the top of the boost pipe and pull it off then swap over..

    i suggest asking in your region tho if there is any other members with same car so u can try it on there car, saves you buying parts if there not needed...
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. boost solenoid solved spanner light coming on!
    By Gez08 in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-03-2016, 12:38
  2. Z20LET Problems - Spanner Light (Coil Pack? Boost Solenoid?) Please Help
    By jimbothegiant in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30-12-2008, 01:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •