Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

53 Plate Astra 1.4 club Fan Belt

Hi guys, I really need some help

The garage takes my car in 1 month after purchase after I complain about the fan/aux belt making a grinding noise. Anyway they give it back saying it was some casing it was hitting, I start it up and the noise is still present but faint. Mechanic just says the mechanism is a bit rusty and to WD40 it every so often. I have been doing this for 1 1/2 months since. Then today it is very loud for some reason. Now just on the way home all my electrical systems started lighting up on the dash warnings. Power steering went, radio, lights almost, then it was trying to stall. I park it in a garage and have a look. Now there is no fan belt even there! I guess it snapped off.

So im really pissed the garage have obv told the mechanic to blag me off to save money on fixing it. Thing is I know when i ring up they will **** me off or try too and ill prob get nowhere. I need the car for work

How easy is a belt to fit? Will I have done any damage when it broke? Can the belt be fitted at roadside? i know you can gain access from above on some cars

Any help would be really appreciated

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)