Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: engine light comes on wen im doin 80 and lose all power why????

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    bangty's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    engine light comes on wen im doin 80 and lose all power why????

    hi could any1 tell me y my 1.7dti 51plate van dies wen the car and spanner light comes on wen doin like 80 need it fixing asap cuz it wen overtakin and u hav no power to get ahead thanx

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dogsbolox's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ya need to get the code read on a tech2, that will tell you the problem.
    we had the same problem with a 52 plate 1.7dti and it was a speed sensor in the fuel pump

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    bangty's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    how do i do that and how much is a speed sensor??

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    try stopping at 70 then it wont cut out

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    lew1984's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi, I had a similar problem but only had a small loss of power and kept running fine but with the engine management light still lit. I took it to my local garage who is a Vauxhall specialist and it turned out to be the Crankshaft Sensor... but that was my car, might be something different on yours!

    If it is the crankshaft sensor then this cost me around £80 i think!

    Hope this helps

    (edit: mine is a 2001 1.7 DTI Hatchback!)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    dogsbolox's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you need to take it to a auto electrician or a vx main dealer who has a tech2 mechine, it will store the fault code in the ecu.
    then take it from there, could be a few things,
    better to get the code read instead of throwing money at it

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    bangty's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanx all just to say my van is at vauxhall and they cant read the codes the machine wont hook up to the van lol RAC had the same prop the other day

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    once the fault codes have been read they will be able to tell you what's putting your car into limp mode.

    there are a variety of reasons why this happens, including those already suggested. Other common faults that cause this are the Air Flow Meter (aka AFM/MAF), O2/Lambda sensor faults, blocked cat, coil pack, vaccuum pipes split, throttle bodies dirty.. the list goes on.

    Vauxhall will get there eventually if you put enough £££ their way
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    astrasteve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    East Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,347
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    20 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by peteg2004 View Post
    once the fault codes have been read they will be able to tell you what's putting your car into limp mode.

    there are a variety of reasons why this happens, including those already suggested. Other common faults that cause this are the Air Flow Meter (aka AFM/MAF), O2/Lambda sensor faults, blocked cat, coil pack, vaccuum pipes split, throttle bodies dirty.. the list goes on.

    Vauxhall will get there eventually if you put enough £££ their way
    Its the 1.7 dti engine isnt it? if it is then it doesnt have a lambda sensor, coil pack or throttle bodies
    it sounds like the vauxhall garage doesnt have a clue

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Simon130487's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi, i had the same problem with my 2.0dti astra when i got to 70mph. turned out to be the airflow sensor, something to do with an incorrect reading of the airflow which tells the ecu that there is too much power and puts the car in "limp home" mode. i think the airflow sensor was £140ish

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Have you had a remap to lose power?
    By Bludshot in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 18-05-2013, 22:22
  2. lose of power, need help
    By pav in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 13:14
  3. Lose Power At Motorway Speeds... Anyone Help?
    By jcastraDTi in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-05-2007, 11:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •