Thread: Front disc and pads?

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

Front disc and pads?

Hi all, Just wondered how difficult it is to do this job on an astra mk4 1.6 sxi? I've changed the rear shoes before but never the front.

Status
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Moved to Mk4 > Chassis

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you have changed rear shoes doing front disks and pads will be a walk in the park for you

White is the new Black

FARMYARD TUNING

LEH IS THE FUTURE

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I changed a local members pads yesterday in 30mins on same car but that was taking my time to show him whats needed

Discs will only take a further 10mins or so

Allow 1.5hours for a complete novice but there really isnt that much to go wrong despite what most ppl think

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its easy man, wheel off,push bk caliper slightly,undo caliper bolts 7mm allen key,remove pads,then push bk caliper piston fully(may need bf cap off and a rag to prevent spilling),dependent on disc size,either remove caliper carrier, or not at all,remove disc, then refit accordingly using copper slip on pad edges to stop squeeking,pump pedal,top up fluid if req,wheel on, job done
    "WHATS THE RETAIL ON ONE OF THOSE?" "MORE THAN YOU CAN AFFORD PAL . . . .888

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i couldnt do my back pads but front ones are easy.

only tool you will need is a G clamp to push the adjuster back in to the middle.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    the only thing that throws me is the parts you are mentioning I haven't a clue what they look like lol?

Status
    Tech Advisor/Moderator
    Mentioned in