Thread: Please help, starting issue with new car!

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Please help, starting issue with new car!

i have recently bought a 2004 53 plate Vauxhall Astra 1.7 CDTI SXI. Firstly i absolutely love the car, it's so economical and comfortable to drive. It has 74,000 miles on the clock and is in very condition with no marks inside or out. However i had a bit of trouble with it a couple of days ago and have scoured the internet looking for other peoples similar experiences and the reasons behind the problem. I'm a builder so i am very hands on and whilst i'm not a mechanic by any means, i do know a little about how cars run and i have done a few minor bits of work on my previous cars i.e. oil changes, brake discs and pads, replacing exhausts etc usually following the instructions in a Haynes manual. I'm only mentioning my experiences because i want you to get a good idea of my limited knowledge so you can advise me accordingly if you would be so kind. Ok so the car had been running like a dream, starting first time with no problems until about 3 days ago. I had left from work and driven about 5 miles to the post office to pick something up, having collected my post i return to the car (i must have been about 5 minutes). I got in it and as normal turned the key (i cant remember if i saw/waited for the glow plug light to go out). The car turned over with a very healthy and lively sound however it did not start. I tried again but to no avail noticing there was definitely no glow plug light at all when turning the key. I tried every couple of minutes and each time the engine turned over very energetically but still no start and not once did the glow plug light come on. After about 20 minutes i tried it it turned over very well and it sprang into life, there was still no sign of any glow plug light when i first turned the key but it was running THANK GOD!!!! (PLEASE NOTE NOT ONCE HAD ANY ENGINE MANAGEMENT