Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Wireless router problem

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MatG's Avatar
    Club Chairman
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    34,568
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Unhappy Wireless router problem

    I hope some one can put me in the right direction here. I have an issue with my wireless router. Its a belkin one and have had it for a good 3 years or so without any issues.

    Its currently hard wired to my main PC and then we use it wireless for my notebook, Sarah's laptop, my Ps3, phone and itouch.

    At the moment it will not connect to any of the devices wireless. Or if it does connect its for a brief time and then cuts me off. The whole time it works fine on the main PC hard wired. Now and again the notebook pics up the signal but is unable to connect to the network and then the network disappears again

    This leads me to believe its an issue with the router maybe not working as it should?

    Is there anything I can do to fix it, eliminate certain issues like ISP, hardware failure, anything that may interrupt the signal (although nothing has changed recently.

    Cheers for advice or pointers
    Been apart of the inner circle since 2001
    Click Me to Join Astra Owners Club Full or Lite Members

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Had exactly the same issue at the end of last year Matt.

    I replaced the router, like for like (Belkin) that was as bad. I luckily was offered a free one through Virgin Media so used that.

    Sounds like you need a new router.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    MatG's Avatar
    Club Chairman
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    34,568
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Cheers Keif

    I have just done the turn it off and leave for a few mintues and re-start and nothing has changed. It did find the network shortly then lost it again.

    I am upgrading to my sky soon and changing to sky broadband this comes with a free router so I will hang on till then I think. In the mean time I am thinking of getting these as it will help the transfer speeds for the PS3 and means sarah can use it wired for the net.



    I know Rob swears by these sort of things for media transfer, does anyone else use these?
    Been apart of the inner circle since 2001
    Click Me to Join Astra Owners Club Full or Lite Members

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    robokn's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,995
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    We have those work a treat, quite cheap as well
    The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    LEE69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,594
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MatG View Post
    Cheers Keif

    I have just done the turn it off and leave for a few mintues and re-start and nothing has changed. It did find the network shortly then lost it again.

    I am upgrading to my sky soon and changing to sky broadband this comes with a free router so I will hang on till then I think. In the mean time I am thinking of getting these as it will help the transfer speeds for the PS3 and means sarah can use it wired for the net.



    I know Rob swears by these sort of things for media transfer, does anyone else use these?
    Make sure you are on the same ring main or they won't work.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    domino's Avatar
    User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,269
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Wired up many an office (their choice) using this method and it's excellent.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my modem is giving me problems.

    No online gaming for me I still have AOC tho, thank god for mobile broadband

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    kNeo gHau's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    520
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by LEE69 View Post
    Make sure you are on the same ring main or they won't work.
    Yes they will, i know as i've got a set on a different ring main The transfer rates will probably take a hit though (mine have) but considering the wireless doesn't really reach to my room they're great

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    LEE69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,594
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Couldn't get ours to work on separate rings.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    MatG's Avatar
    Club Chairman
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    34,568
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ours are different ring mains and they are working a treat! Much faster than wireless so thats better although the freedom of no wires is lost in the short term. There is always the vodaphone dongle for that though (need to surf whilst taking a dump! )

    I just picked up 3 one for the dinning room where sarah does here work, one in the lounge for the PS3 and the one thats connected in the office to the router.

    Yet to try the PS3 due to twlight being on yet again!
    Been apart of the inner circle since 2001
    Click Me to Join Astra Owners Club Full or Lite Members

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Recommend me a wireless router?
    By joemailey in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16-09-2008, 20:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •