Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Astra mk4 gsi fault code (not EML)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    fennyLET's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Astra mk4 gsi fault code (not EML)

    Im got a problem with my Astra. All is well when driving normaly but if i boot it in say 4th gear. At around 3.5 - 4k it miss fires and i get the car and spanner symbol light up on the dash. Then it goes into limp mode so doesnt make any + boost.
    Ive tryed to read the codes useing a Mac tools code reader but they wont come up for some reason.

    I did put some crap fuel in it the other night.

    So today i draind the tank empty, cleaned the little filter on the pump (Is was full of crap) replaced the inline filter.

    Just been and filled up with Shell Vpower and it still does it so i dont think the problem is fuel unless the injectors are blocked??

    Can anybody shed any light on what the problem is?

    Thanks in advance
    Mk3 gsi turbo track car in the making
    quick rack, ATB, turbo, cage, slicks.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Dynamic Jay's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Drives
    Astra Sri Turbo 190
    Location
    Donemana/ Tyrone
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Add Dynamic Jay on Facebook
    Did you try the pedal test?
    Astra SRI-Turbo, now running CSS4 300bhp & 369ft/lbs
    <-- New pics and garage updated with spec list!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    sprdan's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,864
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    have u checked ur boost pipes mine did the same thing and 4 pipes where split
    vxr turbo, FMIC, TX tophat and powerpipe and remap from noblemotersport. 271.5 bhp and 331 lbft. http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=332537

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    fennyLET's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynamic Jay View Post
    Did you try the pedal test?
    The brake pedal test?

    Quote Originally Posted by sprdan View Post
    have u checked ur boost pipes mine did the same thing and 4 pipes where split
    It hold boost fine when in the lower gears

    On another note (going on the gauge) It only holds about 6psi and 10psi overboost.
    Mk3 gsi turbo track car in the making
    quick rack, ATB, turbo, cage, slicks.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    pedal test: http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...78&postcount=2 (DIY method of flashing up the fault codes)


    oh and the car/spanner IS the EML


    without knowing the code details its pointless even guessing

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    wherabouts u located anyway?

    a local member might be able to plug their diagnostics in if the pedal test doesnt come up trumps

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    fennyLET's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post

    oh and the car/spanner IS the EML

    But yet it has a EML light like the rest of the vauxhalls...... and i know that one works as i get the pre cat lambda come up every now ond then. I can also check that code on my Mac tools thing.

    Also i can delete the other code, just cant read it.
    Mk3 gsi turbo track car in the making
    quick rack, ATB, turbo, cage, slicks.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    fennyLET's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post
    wherabouts u located anyway?

    a local member might be able to plug their diagnostics in if the pedal test doesnt come up trumps
    King's Lynn buddy
    Mk3 gsi turbo track car in the making
    quick rack, ATB, turbo, cage, slicks.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    fennyLET's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well just had to take it for a quick blast to get the light to come on again as i reset it. Didnt think it was going to come on.... But did in 5th at around 4k.

    So tryed that pedal test and its rather weird.....
    It came up with 5 slow flashes then 7 fast flashes without a pause. Then 6 fast flashes. So i got 126

    I followed what is writtern in that link???
    Mk3 gsi turbo track car in the making
    quick rack, ATB, turbo, cage, slicks.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    id try it again

    count the slow flashes as 5 individual ones if they are noticeably different to the fast ones

    failing that video it on ur phone and upload it


    could be 1111 and 0176

    P1111 Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor Circuit Intermittent High Voltage
    P0176 Fuel Composition Sensor Circuit Malfunction

    but id do it again or film it if u can

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. astra g fault code help please
    By spaglemon in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-05-2010, 19:46
  2. Astra Fault code
    By barry01 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-02-2010, 20:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •