Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: INSP on start up??

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MCJM's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    INSP on start up??

    Question, when i start my car INSP comes up for about 5 seconds on the digital mileometre (i think thats what its called...). Is this just a normal part of the start up process eg when all your lights flash on your dash etc then go out or is my car saying it would like a service?

    Cheers
    Astra Coupe Turbo Regal Phase 1

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Sami's Avatar
    The Invisible Woman
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Drives
    Zafira
    Location
    Garelochhead, but now Northampton
    Posts
    12,675
    Mentioned in
    50 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Its normal for it to appear briefly when you start your car.

    If you turn it on and INSP stays on continously, then its saying it would like a service
    Why not sign up and join us.
    Become a member today

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    MCJM's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ahh i see thanks.
    Astra Coupe Turbo Regal Phase 1

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    MarkG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10,676
    Mentioned in
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Follow MarkG On Twitter
    As Sami said, INSP means the set service interval has been reached - car needs a service!

    It will continue to appear until it is reset.
    Astra sold ... replaced with a Skoda ... soon to be replaced with another Vauxhall

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    MCJM's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You have confused me now... He said if it stays on continuously it need a service, but it just pops up for about 5 seconds everytime i start the car.

    Are you saying it needs a service or not? I just got it a few days ago from the garage and they put in new oil, spark plugs etc.

    Cheers
    Astra Coupe Turbo Regal Phase 1

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    MarkG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10,676
    Mentioned in
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Follow MarkG On Twitter
    Yeah, it is designed to inform you the service interval has been reached.

    If the car has had a service, then the INSP needs to be reset. You can do this yourself, search the forum for how to!
    Astra sold ... replaced with a Skoda ... soon to be replaced with another Vauxhall

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    MCJM's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ok thank you.
    Astra Coupe Turbo Regal Phase 1

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

    To reset, hold down the Odometer trip button while switching on the ignition.
    When the display shows ---- it has been reset.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    benhavenhand19's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,023
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry to bring up an old thread but i i reset my odometer today after i filled up with petrol and the display changed on it. obviously you know what it normally says with the mileage at the bottom and the trip mileage in bigger at the top but it changed to 24750 at the bottom and the top read 040.2

    what the hell is that? it goes out straight after i let the odometer reset button out.

    any ideas?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its a version number for the ECU or at least the EPROM or something along those lines inside the clocks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. insp on start up
    By mus in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-05-2010, 22:57
  2. InSP displayed sometimes when I start my car
    By viio in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-08-2005, 11:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •