Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Double DIN head units under £200?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Kiltox's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Double DIN head units under £200?

    I'm looking for a Double DIN unit for my H - ideally with the following:

    Rear USB (essential)
    Removable front panel (optional - but preferred)
    Compatibility with steering wheel controls using the relevant adaptors (essential)

    I've found the Clarion DUZ388RMP (here) but any alternatives seem to be scarce.

    Any suggestions would be great

    Also - I've seen fitting kits for double DIN that include a cage as well as a fascia as well as fascias on their own - surely the headunit will come with a cage?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Dalco's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I dont thik it does come with a cage.

    The 6 disc version certainly doesnt.

    I remember going to install on of them into out demo stand and relised we had to order on in for it.

    How about the Kenwood version??



    not got Rear usb but has front and is around the £200 mark

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Kiltox's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Damn that display looks nice - looks far better than the Clarion unit's in that it'll display all of the info about a MP3 you want to see at once without having to cycle through track name / artist name.

    Really wanted rear USB though so I could tuck the cable into the glovebox/somewhere else out of the way.

    Are Clarion about the only manufacturer that do rear USB?

    I thought about bursting the budget and importing the equivelant of the VXMMI from a Chinese supplier (£350) - but I guess it'll not be the most reliable unit in the world and without UK aftersales it's probably not worth it. £350 wouldn't be too bad since I wouldn't need to buy all of the fitting accessories I'd need for any other unit.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    planetse's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Looks like the one I have in my Zafira



    To fit any head unit and keep the wheel controls and screen you will need;

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro..._id/11064.html

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/8651.html

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/8127.html

    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/6859.html

    The head unit will not fit or work without this lot. So £130 ish on top of price of your head unit.

    EDIT: Above has been changed for the correct aerial adaptor

    Autosparks

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Kiltox's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Will the screen continue to display the radio station etc if I buy that Connects2 adaptor? I thought it was just for the steering wheel controls. If the screen does work I might just put a single DIN unit in the glovebox and leave the CD30 in situ!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiltox View Post
    Will the screen continue to display the radio station etc if I buy that Connects2 adaptor? I thought it was just for the steering wheel controls. If the screen does work I might just put a single DIN unit in the glovebox and leave the CD30 in situ!
    No it will not.

    Only some Apine units with display output (IVA-W202R/205R, 502R, 505R, 407R etc) in combination with the Alpine Display and Steering wheel control adapter (APF-D102OP) have this facility. No other makes do excpet for the forthcoming oem style Zenec headunit but then again that is way more then £200.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    planetse's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiltox View Post
    Will the screen continue to display the radio station etc if I buy that Connects2 adaptor? I thought it was just for the steering wheel controls. If the screen does work I might just put a single DIN unit in the glovebox and leave the CD30 in situ!
    Like said it will not sorry. Nor will trying to fit a single din in the glove box.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Kiltox's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by planetse View Post
    Like said it will not sorry. Nor will trying to fit a single din in the glove box.
    Why not?

    Surely if I just disconnect the CD30 and route the ISO wiring from the Connects2 adaptor into the glovebox it'll work?

    Thinking it might be a bit inconvenient though.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Be it a single or double din headunit that connects2 adaptor does not have a display output
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Kiltox's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Be it a single or double din headunit that connects2 adaptor does not have a display output
    Yeah fair enough.

    TBH I'm tempted by the VXMMI but I've heard conflicting reports about them.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Double Din Head Units / DVD Problem
    By nathannew2008 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-01-2009, 23:11
  2. double head units???
    By carboy in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 19:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •