Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Thermostat Stuck Kit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    parmett's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Thermostat Stuck Kit

    Hi
    I'm new to the forum and have just bought a mk 4 1.6 8v. The temperature guage does not register unless in traffic and posts on the site suggest that this is a thermostat stuck open.
    I have seen a kit on e-bay that bypasses the original thermostat and installs an additional one somewhere in the system. Does anyone out there know anything about these - are they any good, easy to fit etc.
    The fix is under £20 so if any good must be better than changing the cam belt and water pump etc as the car has only done 40k.
    Any help much appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    a few ppl on here have used them

    best person to speak to is Asim (Member name A51M)

    send him a PM as he fitted one of these couple months back and its worked

    sods law though means he didnt get any pics of the kit or strangely didnt go into detail what it comprised of


    By the way the timing belt interval is 40k anyway so youd probs be best doing the lot

    not the end of the world tho in the 8v - its a total doddle as theres virtually hardly any parts to replace

    belt, tensioner, water pump, thermostat - may as well chuck in a new coolant temp sensor too (located on the inlet manifold)

    all the above for well under a ton and a doddle to fit ur self - or 2hrs labour at a local garage

    DONE





    OR ebay aftermarket bodged thermostat for 20notes,,,,,, and if the belt snaps then just whack a new one on then....non-interference engine so no risk of snapped/bent valves etc

    depends what u reckon


    Good luck whatever u decide

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I believe (as there has been another thread on this which I can't find) this eBay thermostat just fits into one of the larger diameter cooling pipes effectively putting a second thermostat in the system - providing the old one is permanently stuck open I guess it'll work, but I'm a stickler for things working how they were designed so I'd rather sort the original one, especially as your mileage dictates the cambelt needs changed anyhow.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    for 20notes tho why not

    as i said before, if all hell breaks lose with the cambelt then its a cheap fix

Similar Threads

  1. Thermostat stuck ???
    By skyman in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-12-2008, 23:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •