Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Why my HID stopped working

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Why my HID stopped working

    Tried swapping a spare ballast on my HID that wasn't working today, and the bulb fired straight up.
    Instead of just binning the old ballast I thought i'd open it to see if it was easy to fix. This is what I found







    Don't think i'll be fixing it

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    wow thats fried, any idea how it happened?
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ben_M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4,057
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    that doesn't look good. you got any warranty on them?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Would imagine damp has got in from where its been cold and just cause a short. Either that or its just a badly built one.

    For a while now you could see the bulb flickering where it shines on the road or a wall. Has been doing that for a couple of months, then turned them on the other day and only had one working

    Quote Originally Posted by b1988m View Post
    that doesn't look good. you got any warranty on them?
    they only cost about £40 so not worth the hassle of trying to claim it as would mean posting back to China/Hong Kong/Germany etc (have no idea where they came from lol). Warranty would be invalid now they have been opened anyway.

    Doens't look much better from the other side, plus it smells really strong of something like TCP


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    funny u mention TCP as I smelt a burnt out piece of electrics yesterday and smelt exactly the same lol

    you can clearly see the moisture in that last pic so can only presume that was the cause..... who knows tho with anything electrical from china!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Hopefully the other one won't break as well as I don't have any more spare ballasts, would have to buy another set

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Chris_08's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've got the cheapy chinese ones and they've been ok so far.. How long you had them fitted dude?

    Might buy another set as a spare as they were only 40 quid ish as you say. If the bulb goes on one of these sets, is it really worth getting another? Probably easier just to buy another cheap ebay set surely.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    These ones weren't that old TBH, maybe 6 months if that. The set in my full beam are probably over a year old.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Chris_08's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mine are approaching the 6month mark I would think.. Going to get another set I reckon.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    MeasorPaul's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hartlepool
    Posts
    3,198
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    iv had mine for over 2 years with no problems... if a bulb is flickering, change the bulb to the other side and it does it still then its the bulb, if it stops its the ballast, its normally the ballast and only way to fix it is to replace it, iv fitted loads to friends cars and its hit and miss to whether you get a perfect working set or not

    normally by being adimint to the seller and saying you can post back as you will have no working lights to do the wiring being modified they will send you a new one out then request you cut the wire on the ballastto show its destroyed
    Astra Coupe Turbo
    Custom Stage 3.5 330bhp 340ft lb VXR Pop Bang Map with Ignition Cut Limiter

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Key fob stopped working
    By JoshSmith in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-06-2013, 18:02
  2. help-my key has stopped working
    By sam clarke in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-01-2013, 20:59
  3. Mfd stopped working.
    By ConorSRI in forum Interior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-08-2011, 11:31
  4. Air con stopped working
    By dannysport18 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 00:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •