Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Help please - 2006 Astra 1.7 CDTI 100hp poor fuel economy MPG

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on this site - Ive read anything I can find on here regarding fuel economy etc - but heres my problem:

I bought my Astra SXI 1.7 CDTI 100hp this month (3rd). Its done 51000 miles and has been well looked after FSH ect.. Ime really happy with it my best car yet and ive had a fair few..

Ive been keeping an eye on fuel economy as I always keep records etc for work and ive been getting no more than 36 MPG all town driving very little motorway etc and ive been driving it normally..

I followed advice from other threads on this site and i did the following:

Full service with full synthetic 5/30 oil

2 tanks with redex

checked tyre pressures (all ok)

Brakes are not binding

I even changed my driving style a bit ie keeping revs around 2000 - 2200 rpm as i read on here that its the sweet spot etc before I always shifted up asap as i thought that saved fuel...

apart from low MPG it seems to drive fine - plenty of power, no smoke - it sounds OK...?

My last car (2000 astra 1.7 DTI with 170000 miles on was doing 44 MPG)..
    I love this car it looks good, really nice to drive but ime sure MPG should be higher - vuax quote 44 around town - i know you cant really get that in real life but it should be low 40's shouldent it??

I read cold weather can affect MPG but its been milder down here in torquay this week still low MPG.

What could it be?

I really love this site - so full of good advice - I will be sharing anything I can to help others.

I appreciate any help..

Troy.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Welcome to the sucker club - got same issues - mpg about 30/32 (320/340 miles) per tank (50 liters) in town.

Vaux said book shoudl not be used for reference etc (find my other posts).