Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: double din and din

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    double din and din

    hi i have a din dvd player i got 4 xmas last year and iv brought a double din aswell which has sat nav and a load of stuff on it i was just woundering if i can run my components and subs and 6x9s of both head units so that they can both be used but still using the same speakers if u get me ? not at the same time but with all the speakers running of both units ?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    sx297's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    770
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I wana know this aswell, cos I want a single din dvd player but want to keep the unit that in now.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Only way to do this is to wire the DVD pre out to the main units pre input.
    Then when you can play the DVD through the main unit just go to the AUX input & control the volume through the main head unit.
    You can't connect both units up to the speakers at the same time, otherwise you will fry the output amplifiers.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    would that make it quite confusing to use though ? or is that the only way i just wanted to use the double din 4 sat nav and watchin dvds n tv n the other for my music if u get me

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    It's the only way you can do it. Should be no more confusing than having any other sort of external input like a TV tuner or games console hooked up.
    As I said, if you try to hook both units up to the speakers at the same time you will blow up the output amplifiers in them.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok then so i will still be able to use everything on both of the units as normal then or is it not worth the hastle having two units in ?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    That's a call only you can make.
    I'd say your first problem is getting a double DIN into a Mk4 dash.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    stevehinton's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    427
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    that not a prob its bein done as we speak just bonding the din space and the middle heater vents all smooth then cut the double din size hole and relocating the hazard switch jobs done

Similar Threads

  1. Double din
    By silver_coupe in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-05-2011, 22:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •