Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: oxygen sensor (engine management light)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    oxygen sensor (engine management light)

    As above really fitted full 2.5inch stainless exhaust pre-cat and 200cell sports cat from exhausts uk and milltek non res cat bak. Since then the engine management light has come on is this normal?

    If so would a remap take it of or wot can i do

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    first of all check the O2 sensors are secure

    you may have knocked it slightly during fitting

    having said that though ExhaustsUK are notoriously shit so wouldnt be surprised if this caused the light!

    Either reset code (unplug ECU for 10mins if u dont have code reader), clean the lambda (i use petrol personally), space out the lambda so it tricks the ECU into reading the incorrect amount of gases but in all honesty it shouldnt be required with a 200cpi cat.

    A remap can certainly remove the sensors values but personally Id say try giving it a clean or may just have reached the end of its lifespan and needs replacing.

    Depends if u want a correct solution or a bodge or a bypass!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    would have to be correct solution with the pedal test with sensor is clased as with as there are 2 oxygen sensors

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry that didnt make sense

    have u checked the lambdas are secure? clean em and reset ECU and take it from there

    they could (or one of em anyway) may just need replacing - might be worth borrowing sum1 elses to check if its any different

    as with any exhaust the light may just go out of its own accord after a few miles but personally id reset the light and clean the sensors then take it from there

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok mate i reset the light but did not clean them and it came back on

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    other thing were is the fault code list on here cause i carnt find it now

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    did u check they were correctly threaded in and plugged in at the elec connectors?

    what fault code exactly came up on the test?

    id still clean them, wd40 the elec plug end and recheck.... maybe reset and just give it a good drive and see if it clears....if not then defo replace the relevant sensor as indicated in the fault code


    codes: http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=171031

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i got p0130

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    sri t steve's Avatar
    Yorkshire RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    but dont know which is bank 1 sensor 1

    and it takes about 3 days to come back on

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thats the one on the precat

    defo give it a clean and check the connector (located near to the CTS on the side of the block) clean both and take it from there

    replacing it if necessary

    £50 or thereabouts will get u one from Autovaux

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HELP. Traction Control light and Engine Management light on :-(
    By djcowely in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29-11-2009, 00:33
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-08-2009, 21:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •