Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Loose discs after fitting pro races' 1.2 (help!!!!!)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    V7MSH's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Loose discs after fitting pro races' 1.2 (help!!!!!)

    help me, ive fitted the above rims to my astra mk4 gsi, 17" 215/40. since ive fitted them for some stupid reason my discs at the back are coming loose god knows why??? but they make a horrible noise when driving, new studs have been used that came with rims!!!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    BMAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,588
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    are they bolted on tight ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    new "studs" ???

    so the brake discs are loose??? surely that cant happen as the wheel bolts go thru the disc etc so even if the disc securing bolt wasnt fitted the wheel and bolts would secure it to the hub

    were the correct sized spigot rings supplied?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    V7MSH's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    exactly geordie thats wot i cant get my head round, ye they were. and ye they are tight

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    im guessin u meant new bolts and not studs

    whats the difference in size over the OE ones?

    have u tried fitting the OE bolts?

    so how exactly is the disc "loose" can u see its loose? is it just when the rims are fitted? is the securing bolt still attached?
    is the hub actually secure

    sorry but need a bit more info tbh

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    V7MSH's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ye new bolts, the new 1's are slightly longer than the standard 1's used for the snowflakes, but its a deeper rim so old bolts dont look as though they would have enough thread to hold the rim on to the hub, i didnt have this problem untill the new rims were put on so i guess the hub would be fine

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    so more than likely the bolts are either too long and too much thread left exposed and bolt is bottoming out maybe on back of hub.... or the collar is the wrong angle for instance on not seating correctly on the face

    do old bolts actually fit flush in the rim?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    V7MSH's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ye they do, and its only the back where ive got the problem, front 1's are fine

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    robsprocket's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    124
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If the disc are loose then the wheels will be too.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    madgezza's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,144
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    are you sure the centre bore on the wheels are big enough?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. fitting new discs
    By Jay_Jay203 in forum Chassis
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-09-2012, 14:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •