Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Just got mugged. (Cruise / Software Via Tech 2)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    smala01's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Just got mugged. (Cruise / Software Via Tech 2)

    I think i was mugged. In fact getting mugged a couple of years ago was a lot less expensive than a trip to the dealer.

    1 x Cruise Tech2 enabling
    1 x Update of Software / Fuel Map

    1 x Fix loose clutch cable (cruise wouldn't work when activated)

    £130 - not a single part needed.

    I'm still in shock. So did they see me coming or what?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    ledster's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,583
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i got my cruise enabled and the stalk fitted at vxl dealer on a sat for £30 cash,bargin i thought.but in the long run £130 not so bad to improve your car and update software.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    liam99's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'd say thats probaly about right,
    Cruise control activated £35
    Software update £65
    Fix clutch cable £40

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Welcome to the Vauxhall Dealer pricing structure (Dick Turpin masks optional).
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Blue_Sport's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,358
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man View Post
    Welcome to the Vauxhall Dealer pricing structure (Dick Turpin masks optional).
    haha, if my mechanic wore a dick turpin mask i'd piss myself! i'd still leave though

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Dave One's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,357
    Mentioned in
    29 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Out of interest - Does Tech2 need to be used to activate cruise control or can this been done via OBDII Elm 327 interface unit? (I know you can reset dash lights with the Elm 327 interface unit and correct software - possible mod coming )

    <edit> just realised this is in the Mk5 forum but if anyone can answer for the Mk4 it would be appreciated
    Whiteline RARB & Strut Brace with Eibach Pro, Bilstein B4s & RnD Droplinks - FARB Powerflex'd

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    liam99's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It needs to tech2 or equivalent, Elm 327 is just obd code reader.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    surely you should have got a quote before having any work done????

    and if so then surely it wouldnt be a mugging

    If you thought the price was extortionate then I would have thought youd have said "no" to the work and went elsewhere..........

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    graeme647's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,115
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by liam99 View Post
    It needs to tech2 or equivalent, Elm 327 is just obd code reader.
    What he said, or Op Com will do it too...
    N.b. any opinitons expressed above should be ignored and considered 'ramblings', under no circumstances should they be relied upon...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    D4nnyGsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,031
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You dont have a clutch cable on your car, its hydraulic.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. anyone got tech 2 software who could activate cruise control
    By alsation in forum East Anglia Region
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-07-2009, 15:16
  2. Tech 2 software. I'm confused!
    By sketchy in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-12-2006, 22:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •