Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: sky hd with 720i tv

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    piperm's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,334
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)

    sky hd with 720i tv

    im thinking of buying sky hd been as sky have a deal on at the minute but i only have a 37'' 720p tv and im not sure if its worth it or not. obviously i'd be best off having a 1080p tv but i dont fancy buying a new tele yet as i've only had this one 18 months. so would it be worth me having sky hd on my 720p tele or should i wait and get a 1080p tv first
    Rolling in a: 57 Astra 1.7 SRi CDTi with X-Pack in Black (135K Miles).
    61 Corsa 1.4 SRi With X-pack in Silver

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    stephenmelody's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,435
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sky HD is 1080i and not 1080p, so if your tv can handle 1080i you'll be fine.
    1.9 cdti (120) black ASH
    Wanted: Black VXR Grille!!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Geordie-Chris's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    161
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can't comment on Sky HD as I haven't got it, but I've downloaded a few HD films and watched them on my 720 42" Plasma and they've looked amazing, definitly a noticable difference! I'm gonna wait for my plasma to die, then buy a bigger, full HD tv and get Sky HD in the new year!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    720p arguably gives a better picture than 1080i anyhow.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mathon's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Drives
    Astra Twintop 1.8 & Honda Accord
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    878
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Sky HD is well worth the money


  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    piperm's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,334
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    yeah thats why im interested in it, i just wernt sure whether my 720p tele would be able to cope with it and whether the quality would be much better
    Rolling in a: 57 Astra 1.7 SRi CDTi with X-Pack in Black (135K Miles).
    61 Corsa 1.4 SRi With X-pack in Silver

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    jimdt's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5,338
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    theres an option on the services menu to change the output to 720 my tv's not 1080 either

    although apart from movies theres not a lot to watch on hd yet imoa

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    LEE69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,594
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Top gear is in HD
    You get a menu with all the HD channels on.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Gnasher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I must have a look at mine - I'm sure my box is set to 720(can't remember whether it's p or i) when my TV is 1080p capable.
    2006 Astra VXR on 19's in Arden Blue
    ExhaustsUK Catback, Eibach Sportlines, DS Ultima, Roose hose kit, Forge recirculating dump valve, Full self modded SMD conversion

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    58astrablack's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Watch Sky HD on a 720p set. Also viewed it on a set at 1080p. TBH, not a lot of difference. 720p is plenty capable of handling HD.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •