Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Strange PC problem!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    gregpot2000's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Strange PC problem!

    This is driving me mad! can anyone help?

    I currently have an old XP system in my bedroom, this used to be the main pc downstairs until we upgraded to Vista, it was spare so decided to just plug it in to my LCD tv in the room and everything works fine...

    We have now upgraded again to windows 7 (new pc) making the Vista machine spare, So I want to stick that one in the bedroom, but when i plug it in to the tv it wont pick up the signal!

    I'm connecting them using the standard monitor socket in the back, If I plug the XP machine back in everything works perfectly, so I know my cable and everything upstairs is ok, and also If I take the Vista machine back downstairs to the main system that works perfectly as well!

    Is there a reason why they just wouldnt work together? a setting I could change on Vista maybe?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Mrs Moon's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,670
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It is the resolution on the screen, plug it back into the monitor downstairs and change the resolution lower.
    On a side note, you don't need to buy a new pc to get vista or windows 7
    Man in the sky murders 40 thousand in Tsunami.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe2T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,936
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    You might need to re-adjust your display settings, although this might be difficult if you can't get a picture up! lol. Maybe hook it up downstairs and move the reolsution low etc? Maybe you have it set higher than your tv upstairs can handle so it isn;t coming up??? Only thing I can think of!
    Great Minds Discuss Ideas; Average Minds Discuss Events; Small Minds Discuss People

    http://mypsn.eu.playstation.com/psn/...e/jahadley.png

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    gregpot2000's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    407
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Cheers for the advice will try it!

    The first upgrade to Vista was just as the other pc was getting on abit and couldn't run many games or programs very fast, but was still ok for web browsing etc so kept it.
    After using the Vista pc for a year without any problems, I got a new Video camera and needed to upgrade the graphics card as it didnt have enough memory for HD editing, only problem was it was a slim-line pc I bought, and I learnt the hard way that these are only really suited to office use, as it's practically impossible to actually find a graphics card that will fit!
    Was advised the only really thing to do was buy a new pc lol, So have done that and it works great, but now leaves the Vista one spare.
    I'll bring it down and fiddle with the settings.

    Edit: tried that, and it still hasnt worked :-(

Similar Threads

  1. Strange problem
    By shultsy12 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 23:07
  2. strange problem(s)
    By zafgsi in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 25-07-2008, 20:54
  3. strange problem
    By A51M in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-08-2006, 03:43
  4. Strange sub problem!
    By astrolicious in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-02-2006, 19:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •