Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Calling all the people who know and thing or 2 about subs

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Calling all the people who know and thing or 2 about subs

    i bought 2 Alpine Type R 12" subs and they came with two amps. One is Alpine mrv F340 and the other is Alpine M500 amp. I don't have a clue how to connect it up. I can connect the Alpine M500 but I don't have a clue about the MRV F340 and what i need it for lol.

    Anyone who can help....

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    The MRV F340 is a 4 channel amp, you could use it to power your front & rear speakers or bridge it to two channels for more power to drive your front speakers.


    Details:
    • 55 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms
    • 65 watts RMS x 4 at 2 ohms
    • 130 watts RMS x 2 in bridged mode
    • 2-, 3-, or 4-channel output
    • Tri-way capable (Tri-Way crossover required)
    • Bass Engine® features:
      • variable 30-400 Hz high-pass/low-pass crossovers, 12 dB/octave
      • rear channels have a subsonic filter at 15 Hz
    • MOSFET power supply
    • STAR Topology (minimizes internal noise and prevents ground interference)
    • speaker- and preamp-level inputs
    • preamp outputs
    • oversized power and ground connections
    • gold-plated screw terminals
    • top mounted controls with cover
    • detachable front cover
    • blue power LED
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ideally you want two of the 500's, as they are pretty much perfect for running the type R sub (assuming you have the 2ohm version of the sub, as Alpine make two types). Otherwise you could probably wire the subs up somehow to give a 2ohm load on the amp (500w), spread across the subs so they are running at 250w each.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    how would i connect the MRV F340 up?...do i have to run leads from the headunit or do i just connect it up to the alpine M500? how do i do that if i have to connect it to the other amp

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also I have like a really big power wire looks like its like 12gauge, on the alpine M500 manual it says to use 8-16gauage wiring...should i put it in your leave it?...the guy i bought it off had like £130 worth of wiring....its mad i will put a image up soon

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    To use it you will need to run extra RCA leads from the head unit.
    You will also need a decent sized power cable (preferably 4 gauge) with a fused distribution block, or a second power cable like you already have for the second amp.
    If you run the larger cable you can re-use some of the cable you already have to run between the fused distribution block & the amps.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    12gauge is tiny, I use a 4 gauge for my MRD-500 and a 12 gauge for my other Alpine amp (2x50w, can't remember model number). If the cable is huge it maybe a 2 or 0 gauge, which would be plenty big enough to run both amps.

    Would also need to check if the headunit has 1/2/or 3 RCA outputs, as that would determine how you would connect the amps.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by buckle View Post
    12gauge is tiny, I use a 4 gauge for my MRD-500 and a 12 gauge for my other Alpine amp (2x50w, can't remember model number). If the cable is huge it maybe a 2 or 0 gauge, which would be plenty big enough to run both amps.

    Would also need to check if the headunit has 1/2/or 3 RCA outputs, as that would determine how you would connect the amps.

    okay thanks...yeah its 0 gauge lol...i only got 1 RCA output...is there like a plug thing to spit it from 1 into 2?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man View Post
    To use it you will need to run extra RCA leads from the head unit.
    You will also need a decent sized power cable (preferably 4 gauge) with a fused distribution block, or a second power cable like you already have for the second amp.
    If you run the larger cable you can re-use some of the cable you already have to run between the fused distribution block & the amps.

    thanks mate....

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mandizzle1's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just put in the 0 gauge wire and the ground wire...now i need to connect it all up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. calling all remaps graphs for comparison. every thing you have hp, ft lb, fuel ratio
    By 22rabbits in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-07-2013, 16:17
  2. calling all hd/tv hdmi people
    By jimbo1 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23-07-2007, 19:30
  3. Calling All RC People...
    By willbaroo in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-07-2007, 21:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •