Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: no temp gauge?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    kris31uk's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    no temp gauge?

    having just bought an 56 reg astra 1.9 cdti 150 i noticed there is no temperatue gauge on the dash anyone know why this is the case? its a bit disconcerting not to see what engine temp is at

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    jimdt's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5,338
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the astra h doesnt have one

    if u hold down the BC button on the stereo, wait for the beep and press the -> (right arrow) then it can bring up the temp

    something like that anyway think theres a warning light if the temp gets too high

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    sxi100's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    They forgot to put one on! Follow the advice above and look for a display screen with V: and T: on it. V is speed in KPH and T is temperature in degrees C.
    The car will not allow you to thrash it until it has warmed up, so I wouldn't be too worried, not unless you have any sort of tuning device fitted which bypasses this protection. (A remap is OK as that will not allow it either)
    It is a bit odd to have a car without a temperature guage, but you get used to it. I miss not having a guage for battery voltage and oil pressure. The Astra is "de-cluttered", but the latest Astra has a temp guage!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    kris31uk's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks guys i'll give that a go

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    davemk4coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sxi100 View Post
    They forgot to put one on! Follow the advice above and look for a display screen with V: and T: on it. V is speed in KPH and T is temperature in degrees C.
    The car will not allow you to thrash it until it has warmed up, so I wouldn't be too worried, not unless you have any sort of tuning device fitted which bypasses this protection. (A remap is OK as that will not allow it either)
    It is a bit odd to have a car without a temperature guage, but you get used to it. I miss not having a guage for battery voltage and oil pressure. The Astra is "de-cluttered", but the latest Astra has a temp guage!
    Hi mate, how does the car stop you thrashing it - does it limit revs and stop you opening up the throttle too much?
    2006 Astra 1.9CDTi SRi

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    kris31uk's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    tried holding down the bc button but nothin happens

    also is anyone elses blow heater especialy the screen vent realy crap? i get segments of condensation on the screen every day when i put the heater on

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    not all cars have the BC button active depending on Radio IIRC

Similar Threads

  1. temp gauge
    By jonsigsworth in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2013, 21:48
  2. Temp Gauge - Fluctuating readings / struggling to build temp
    By Andy_888 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 02:50
  3. Temp gauge
    By kinsella in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-08-2007, 09:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •