Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blown Head Gasket or a west ham fan????

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Exclamation Blown Head Gasket or a west ham fan????

Hello There!

im new to this Astr Owners Club malarcy so please be nice and gentle with me lol

i have an Astra SRI 1.8 (Z18XE) WITH 85000 mile son the clock.
    about a week ago i noticed that i had a lot of bubbles in my overflow tank for the radiator, which a have heard can be a sing of the head gasket going. i thought this was wuite odd, but my trusty friend whos a mechanic seems to think its quite normal behaviour!!
    however....
    before my car was running at what i would call a normal temperature for an astra. taking about 5 to 10 minutes to heat up, to about 85 degrees.
    when im on the run around town it used to drop again to just above 80, and on the motor way it used to sit just below 80. but now it seems to stay just under half way, and everytime i sit at traffic lights the fan comes on at 90 and cools the engine to just under 90

i recently flushed the cooling system( advised by a mechanic) and refilled it with Vauxhall antifreeze, the red stuff, with water. 50/50 split, and guess what, the bubbles came back after 10 minutes!! i have no other signs of the head gasket going, no water in the oil, no white steam out of the exhaust, just a huge amount of bubbles and the engine running hotter than normal.
    has anyone else had this problem or does anyone know why it could happen?
    i hate driving along waiting for the engine to overheat!!
    any help or information would be gratefully received!!

regards Ben

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)