Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Sub playing up with new head unit fitted!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Ryan87's Avatar
    couldn't care less!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,074
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Sub playing up with new head unit fitted!

    Not my car but Steph's Coupe.

    Her sub ran fine in the fiesta until she replaced her head unit. We put it down to a bad earth on the sub. Weve now transferred the system into her coupe and are having the same problem.

    When the stereo is down low the sub works. However when the volume is turned up the sub is fading on the power light. Iv cheked the earth, remote and power cables and all are fine. The battery and the alternator have been checked on the car and that's ok too.

    I can't for the life of me working out what it is going on with it now. Could it be to do with the headunit's preouts being 4v as opposed to the old radio (which the sub was connected to previously and ran fine on) only being 3v.

    The only thing i can think of is that her headunit is somehow faulty.

    Any information/suggestions will be much appreciated as this is driving me round the bend as im getting moaned at to fix it!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    southwestastra's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what sub , headunit and amp set up do u have?
    and what gauge speaker wire and power and earth cables are u useing?
    i have two 12in rockfords in my boot and cuz i had it allways loudish the speaker termals on my sub had come lose and as it got more power the conections were moveing a bit and causeing a prob in my system.
    2 nylocks sorted it out.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    southwestastra's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    plus how many pre outs does the head unit have?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ryan87's Avatar
    couldn't care less!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,074
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The headunit has 2 pre-outs and one sub out. Its a high end sony model not sure on exact model as it's in Stephs car.

    The sub and amp are a Fli loaded 10" active mated to an 8 gauge 1500 watt wiring kit. Iv used a voltmeter to check all connectivity.

    Iv worked with a few pain in the ass systems when i was fitting them at work but this is one i cant get my head round. Think im going to need to go to an auto electrician and see if we cant sort it out between us.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Have you tried adjusting the gain setting on the sub amp after changing head units?
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Ryan87's Avatar
    couldn't care less!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,074
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SQ Man View Post
    Have you tried adjusting the gain setting on the sub amp after changing head units?
    Tweaked it in both cars with the new headunit. It's cutting out on the power as if it's not getting enough. As the sub kicks the power light fades.

    Suggests not enough power but the voltage across the power input is constant

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    southwestastra's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it would be better if u went 2 a car audio shop that has fitting bays
    thats how i found out bout mine as when he herd it he said i know what that is n told me without any charge.
    its stumping me 2 :s.
    can u adust the preouts on the headunit?
    my alpine u have 2 turn the sub up after u have turned it on at the head unit.
    have u tried pluging it into the front or rear preouts 2 see if u trouble with the sub ones?
    whats ur job then m8?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    southwestastra's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what bout the remote lead?
    i had underpower issues with a 8 gauge kit once i got a 4 gauge in it seams ok know

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ryan87's Avatar
    couldn't care less!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,074
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by southwestastra View Post
    whats ur job then m8?
    Im now a local government services officer but was previously working for Halfords and have got my full IMI training in car audio.

    The remote lead tends to be the same thickness in all kits as it only has to carry around 1v to enable the system to be turned on. The sub outs are designed to run the sub and the sub and stereo have been set for a balanced sound as oppose to being bass heavy.

    None of that however is helping to resolve my current predicament.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    southwestastra's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    u mite be able 2 help me know as i got a problem with mine
    lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. hi there has anyone fitted a double din head unit
    By astra mike in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-03-2008, 15:49
  2. Head Unit playing up
    By kitchpoo in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-11-2003, 16:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •