Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Changing clock time next week - Zafira B

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mccabe2001's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Changing clock time next week - Zafira B

    Hi All

    A few months back I replaced my standard fit CD30 head unit in my Zafira B (2007) with an Alpine unit.
    I knew at the time that I was going to give me a problem when the clocks change (like next week in the UK), as the CD30 unit gave an RDS signal to the dash display for auto-updates and also had the necessary push buttons to change the date/time manually.
    So with my Alpine fitted I can't change the clock, well not without taking my Alpine unit out of the dash every 6 months to gain access to the harness and plug in my CD30 for the controls.
    I was thinking of piggy-backing off the original socket cables, specifically the data cables that aren't included in a standard adaptor kit, then leave this socket looped into say the glove box and I could plug my CD30 into it as required.
    How have other up-graders gotten around this problem ?
    Or where can I buy a 'fully' wired socket harness to extend it myself ?

    Any feedback would be appreciated
    John

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Just get yourself the connects2 steering wheel control and you'll be able to get back into the menu's to adjust the clock. Alpine do one too
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jran7337's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Yeah I had a similar problem for a while as I was using the crappy autoleads kit, but changed them for the connects2 to kit and I can now access the system menu using the steering wheel controls

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    planetse's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mccabe2001's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks guys, some good info an links.

    So am i right in thinking that if i fit the Connects2 unit as Planetse mentioned (having checked the links they are the correct onesfor my Alpine and Zafira ), i will be able to change the clock in the central dash and also gain my steering wheel controls back ??


    Cheers
    John

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    stampede's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    464
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    This can also be done with tech2 and some other diagnostic tools.
    ☻☻☻ STAMPEDE CONVERSIONS ☻☻☻

    Cruise control and trip computer activation, anti-hijack, diagnostics and LED conversions - West Yorkshire and nationwide

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You will gain access to all the menus within the clock that you could with your old cd30, changing the clock is just one of them
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mccabe2001's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question

    Hi Guys

    My Connects2 unit arrived this morning and I fitted it earlier this evening, all functions of steering wheel buttons now working
    However I can't get to the menu bit to change the dash clock, when I press the :] button for 2 seconds it shows 'SYSTEM' on the centre dash display (as expected) but I can't find any button that then either enters or moves to the other necessary menu options, then after about 5 seconds of no activity the display goes back to show the day
    The rather vague instruction sheet from Connects2 says to use the volume up/down scroll wheel, but nothing happens ?? Yet when the display times out all the buttons perform correctly as the radio remote.

    Am I missing a step or a button action of some sort ?

    All responses positively accepted

    John

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I assume THESE are the instructions you have?

    Does the volume button press in at all?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mccabe2001's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi Autosparks

    Yeah, that's the same instructions as per the box, thats how I interpreted the image too, but certainly on my wheel I don't seem to be able to press the volume button in. The search scroll button on the left side of the wheel does press in quite easily, but that doesn't access the menu either ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16-03-2014, 17:02
  2. Changing time on clock on Astra H
    By dp88 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28-10-2013, 15:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •