Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dumpvalve problem?

anothadave

dumpvalve problem?

i noticed that when i accelarate and then lift off the gas the dump valve blows off almost straight away and the accelaration is instantly lost, it sometimes makes the car very jerky when driving. my mechanic said that quite a lot of modern turbo cars have an on/off feel to them and he seems to think that its relatively normal. but i had a 200sx years ago with the same type of dumpvalve and that was much smoother and not as abrupt when i lifted off the gas. it was running much more boost too.. (im running standard boost on the astra)

ive been driving a v6 for many years now so i suppose im used to a different driving style and was wondering if this is a normal characteristic of the Z20let or could it be the dump valve? i notice on other threads that most people arent impressed with the bailey dump valves. i had one on the 200sx for years and ive found it did the job perfectly fine so if this is how the Z20let works then ill stick to the bailey and ill just have to get used to the jerkiness. but if not then ill shop around for another dump valve!

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mine does this and due to it being my first turbo thought it was normal
    GTC SRI 2.0 CDTI

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The dumpvalve will dump when the pressure goes negative thats how they work... acceleration is lost because you lift off the accelerator thats how they work.

i dont see any problem, of course it depends if the dumpvalve has been fitted correctly.

the jerkyness probably just down to your manner of driving
    Dont Hate the Player...............Hate the Game

Status
    AOC Premium Member
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    have you disabled the rear bcs?
    Quote Originally Posted by aussiegman View Post