Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MK4 or MK5 key fobs

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    willeywilson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MK4 or MK5 key fobs

    ok so basically what I want to know is if I buy the cheap £25 op-com from fleebay =D and buy a second hand key off of ebay also, either astra G or H (as the H one looks better =D ) can I reprogram a key that is already programmed??? I only have 1 key for my car and that's gettin pretty battered... I know I would have to get a new metal piece cut but what about the RF and Transponder? anyone know?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Only the MK4 key will program into a MK4 plus there are 2 or 3 different types depending on if you have a factory fitted alarm or not

    The keys can be programmed in even if it's already programmed to another car

    You'll also need a blank key so you can get it cut for your barrell
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    willeywilson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    wow that was quick so ok buy a random mk 4 key off of ebay and see if i can get a new key cut and replaced and then buy the op-com effort and reprogram it! do you know if the op-com can program it to be a master key as thats the one thats lost according to speedtunes diagnostic machine. I dont have an alarm as standard... back onto the mk5 topic. I know someone on here has converted a mk4 into a mk5 flip key, when I finally have a spare I would like to undertake this little project d'ya reckon the internals could just be moved from one to t'other? I'm scared to open my current, and only, key

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    As I said before there are 3 different types of remote, 2 of which look the same so a random one from ebay won;t work

    opcom does program in keys, you'll still need your immobiliser code though
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    willeywilson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-2-BUT...d=p3286.c0.m14 ... mine is the "s series", has 770 stamped on the key anyway, is that the only way to tell if it will work? or do I need to have a look inside mine? sorry for all the questions , I'm just petrified of losing my only key :/ I don't think I have the immobiliser code for my car :s I don't think I have the car pass either... Damn! any idea how much Vaux would charge for looking this up? or can I find it some other way?
    cheers
    adam

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    That seller is good and lists the make which is what counts and the fact it's for a car without factory fitted alarm

    New keycode card is £20 from vauxhall
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You don't need the passcode to program the remote, but you will to program the immobiliser.

    AFAIK the MK5 Remote is different to the 2 types for MK4s so won't work.

    MK4s are Bosch for C/L only and Megamos fro C/L and Alarm.

    The megamos type have megamos on the circuit board inside.

    There are Delphi ones that can be found on Omegas or Vectras, but they don't work with either Bosch or Megamos units.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    willeywilson's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers guys. one last thing... do I need the pass code then or not? :s I'm only programming the key aren't I?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yes you need the pass code to access the security settings to program in the new key
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. Key Fobs
    By Mosuk in forum Electrical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13-03-2009, 15:09
  2. Key Fobs
    By hoops1767 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 23:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •