Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: do precat pipes work

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question do precat pipes work

    as above does a precat pipe make any difference,ie more power and noise with a standard exhausts.do they bring on the mill lights on

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    gsi-jay's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,049
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yes they do work as that is the 1st main restriction in the exhaust and no it dont bring any engine light on
    courtney stage 3 zafira,Mitsubishi evo geek mapped to 389 and 470 lb of torque

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    montyfox's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7,434
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    It made mine sound a bit louder and I noticed the extra pull at around 4000 Rpm and above, that was with the standard exhaust in place.
    Should be the first engine mod you make IMO.

    No fault lights came on.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    MrStush's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,625
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As above!!!!.................................
    Star Silver SRI Turbo..'Red.Dot Reloaded'..Cybox Precat, Cybox Catback SS Exhaust..K&N Panel Filtered...9Ltr EDS SMIC!!.....

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers folks do you no what the bhp gain is roughly

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Most places quote 10-15bhp, think 5-7bhp is more realistic though TBH.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by buckle View Post
    Most places quote 10-15bhp, think 5-7bhp is more realistic though TBH.
    thanks again

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    k.a.r.l's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,986
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the main reason to change this is if raising boost levels it get so hot it can melt the honeycombed metal inside and get even more restrictive causing more strain on the turbo and excessive heat doin crazy amounts of damage

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    afcbadam's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2,573
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    is it true that these (by law) only have to be in when the car is first registered on the road. and as soon as the car is registered they can be removed?

    i know we remove them anyway im not questioning that, just the rule about them been in there on first registration
    Astra T9 estate for sale, see my ebay link!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    hey also make it a lot safer to run any more then std power as the heat gets away from the turbo faster

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. zlet precat pipes & air box's
    By craig_s in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-06-2011, 12:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •