Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Aftermarket headunit installation help please!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    chris_b's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Aftermarket headunit installation help please!

    Hi i have just bought a Fusion Ca-ip500 headunit and a wiring kit off ebay. I have connected all the necessary cables but am getting no power.

    I have however noticed that there is a Red and an Orange cable which are tied up unconnected.
    Red is labelled: 12v Ignition switched
    Orange is labelled: Illumination/dash light

    should these be connected to anything and if so what?

    thanks, chris

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The red at least needs to be connected and the lable say what too

    A ignition switched wire can be picked up from a spare black wire taked up to the accessory socket in the center console
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    apjs87's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    did you find a solution to this issue as i am having the same problem? followed the how to but it mentions different colour wires to what i have. i have orange and red remaining, where do these connect on the hazard light loom?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    You need to connect to the black wire on the accessory socket/cigarette lighter wiring, not the hazard switch.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    apjs87's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    well managed to get it all done connecting to the hazard switch. works perfectly. what a load of hassle compared to my pug

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The wiring on the MK5 is a little more confusing than to the mk4, due to needing the extra bits and pieces wired in etc.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ToddS14A's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just trying to do this in my other halves car atm. Ive removed all the facias required. There are red, orange and black&grey coming off the 12v socket. Am i right in believing that i need to take the 12v switch feed from the black/grey wire as i would have thought that wpould have been an earth?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Better to take the ignition feed from the cigarette lighter feed, as it is a much heavier fused supply.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    ToddS14A's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah thats what i meant with 12v socket, sorry. But what colour wire, im used to japanese cars lol. Is the red wire on the back of the ciggy lighty the switched 12v(ignition feed) ?

    thanks

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its the one that is not being used which is the switched feed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Aftermarket Stereo Installation Advice Required
    By fernandojordio in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 19:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •