Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Can a Novice like me install THIS head unit?

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Can a Novice like me install THIS head unit?

I have a small budget of around £60, so after a brief google search up came this head unit:
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1722...html?srcid=867

I am totally new to head units as I have always simply gone with whatever is stock in the cars I have bought.
    I only tend to listen to the radio, CDs (on medium volume ), and things like speaking books, speeches etc.
    I need to get a new HU though as my CDR-500 is mashed.

I have searched AOC for a 'How to' on installing mk4 HU's but i am unable to find one. I have also tried the search facility to no avail.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a 'How to' please?
    And would the job be straightforward for a novice like me? I am not looking to connect up the steering paddles btw.

Many thanks for your help.

Status
    /
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Very easy to fit a headunit mate. Take out the allen key grub screws on the CDR500, fit the Vauxhall removal keys, (they cost about £2 on ebay) and pull the old headunit out, disconnect the wiring block + the aerial

You will then need a T20 screwdriver, remove the screw that is at the back of the slot the headunit came out of, now the black cage will pull out.
    Put the cage of the Kenwood headunit in its place. HU will come with a wiring loom, connect it to the wiring loom in the car. Car's wiring loom will have 3 blocks, but the new loom will only connect to 2 of them. On the new loom there will be red and yellow wires with bullet connectors on them. Swap them around so the red connects to the yellow, and the yellow connects to the red.
    Connect the other end of the new loom to the HU. Never used a Kenwood before, but you may need an adaptor to fit the aerial cable, this may be supplied with the HU.