Thread: HID advice please

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

HID advice please

Right, well i was looking to just upgrade to better Xenon bulbs, but from reading various threads on this forum I'm now very tempted by HID kits! However I'm new to these, so could really use some advice.

Firstly, what's the projector/reflector headlamp types all about? I want to fit the kit to my standard hardlamps (1999 Astra), so do i need to get a specific type of kit - I don't want to dazzle everyone.

If i understand correctly, when fitting these kits the only modifications are to the bulb holders. I'm not really wanteing to modify the existing ones, but have spotted these online http://www.alltronix.co.uk/index.php...7gdmk8acpl8nc5. Has anyone used these before? Will they work with any kits?

I obviously need the car to get through an MOT, so I think i need to get 6000k is that right?

Can anyone recommend a decent kit that will fit, and a reasonable price?

Many thanks - sorry for all the questions! Just want to make sure I do this right!

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You might aswell modify your current holders, 20 quid is a rip, a replacement set if you muck it up will be a quid from a scrappy you cant go wrong, also your supposed to have projectors, but i dont and ive never had any complaints ever, also my car just went throught its mot 2 times throught 2 diffrent garages with 10000k bulbs and never failed haha.

Status
    /
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    For standard headlights you can get a H7R bulb. Think they may be slightly more expensive than normal H7 bulbs, but they have been designed for use in OE headlights.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by p-a View Post