Status
    AOC Gold Member
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter

Angry Agencies - RANT

I like much of the UK am currently looking for another job. Now I have never been unemployed as I'm still in work at the moment I can still say that! I've never used an agency before and didn't know what to expect.

So I get a call asking me to come over and talk to them so I arrange a date and time. I travel there (during works time) and like always I'm early for the appointment by 20 mins. So 10 mins to find the place exactly and 10 mins to turn up fashionably early. I then get a phone call.... Could I possibly come back in an hour as the womans late. OK I say (knowing work wouldn't be that happy with me having over 2 hours out of the office).

I turn up and press the buzzer. No answer so I press it again this time he door latch buzzes me through. Waiting patiently in reception no one came so I venture upstairs to find a woman smiling and saying my name and becons me up. I go and get sat in an office and given an application form. "fill out this and let me know when you've done".

Annoyingly I sit patiently and fill out the form duplicating everything thats currently in my CV (which they already have) into tiny, impossible to use boxes. So my writing gets tinyer to fit into tiny box until my writing becomes illegible.

Successfully I'm finished and walk back into another office from where she came and was told to take a seat again. I wait for 5 mins whilst they discuss locking up early and going for a hot chocolate and a movie. She comes in and sits down talks through my CV making me repeat whats already in my CV. Followed by we've got no vacancies for you at present that you may be interested in but we have a few companies who may be interested in your CV so we'll pass it on. Thanks and bye.