Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Stereo upgrade question.

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    chris_b's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Stereo upgrade question.

    Hi i have recently purchased a 07 Astra mk5

    it has the trip computrer with mpg etc.

    i am wanting to uprgade from the CDC30 to an aftermarket DIN Fusion stereo.

    Would this result in me losing any functions o the trip computer?

    thanks, chris

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ronny's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    663
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    shouldnt aslong as u have steering wheel controls

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    chris_b's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    does anyone know this or certain and have done it themselves? dont really want to risk it tbh.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sellw88's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hiya Mate.

    Replaced the head unit in my Astra Club back in july.

    Bought the head unit, and a "Connects2 CTSVX002" interface (£39.99) to keep the steering wheel controls.

    I know as standard the club doesn't have the board computer enabled. However when pushing the board computer button on the steering wheel "No Function" appears on my display the same as it used to when i pressed BC on the head unit.

    Kinda assuming that it is probably the case that it will work fine. Whether the connects2 interface is strictly required i dont know.


    Hope this helps,
    Sellw88
    Vauxhall Astra Hatchback 5 Dr
    54 Plate
    1.7 CDTi

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The sticky at the top of this forum has all this info in. You will still be able to work your trip computer but you won;t be able to get into the settings to change the time
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    chris_b's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok, thanks alot guys.

    looks like i am gonna buy the Fusion CA-IP500 with the internal ipod dock

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    planetse's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    VXMMI is the way to go, nothing else on the market will keep all the functions as they should be, trip computer etc. You can get adapters for other after market units but there is a compromise and lose of functions.

Similar Threads

  1. upgrade stereo
    By 1pennockA in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 18:47
  2. stereo upgrade to GID possible?
    By amatthews45 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 13:47
  3. Upgrade stereo help
    By sarahchr in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 21:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •