AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question Rear Sides Break Light Mystery

hi

my car is an astra mk4 51 plate silver 5 door 1.6litre

i've got a problem with my rear breaklights (the first set of red lights at the top, left and right side). They dont seem to be working when i tap the brake pedal. The middle brake light above the glass on the back window works when pressing the brake just the side rear lights dont work. I attempted some troubleshooting, though im a total beginner so i apologise if i get some terms wrong.

Firstly i changed the light bulbs and still didnt get the lights to come on. So i thought it could be a fuse in the fuse box.

I removed the fuse box (right hand side next to steering wheel) and was bombarded with loads of numbers n fuses so i gave up here as i wasnt sure which controls the rear brakelights.

I then took apart the rear lights and using a voltmeter i checked if a current was coming thru when tapping the brake. I noticed that no power was coming thru to that set of lightbulbs (top red ones) even when i pressed the brake pedal. The rest of the rear lights all had power flowing to them when in use.

So all i've narrowed it down to is the black n blue wire for the rear brake lights doesnt get power tho the middle brake light above the rear window works (i think this uses seperate wiring from the side brake lights)

Anyone have any ideas. Sorry if it was explained lamely. If you need any more information let me know.

Status
    Moderator Friend
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by astrakix View Post
    I then took apart the rear lights and using a voltmeter i checked if a current was coming thru when tapping the brake. I noticed that no power was coming thru to that set of lightbulbs (top red ones) even when i pressed the brake pedal. The rest of the rear lights all had power flowing to them when in use.