Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: DTUK Tuning Boxes

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    matthewdavis2009's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Thumbs Up DTUK Tuning Boxes

    Thinking of getting the DTUK CRD2(09) for the Astra, anyone have any views or issues on these things?

    Cheers Matthew

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    allrounder's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Thumbs Up

    Took delivery of mine just half hour ago and fitted it within another 10 mins. Took the van out for a spin and took note of where it pulls well and stops if you know what I mean. Anyway went back to the office (busy busy) and read the bumf that came with the unit. They send you some charts showing where each map peeks and what power % your on etc etc. Now while out on the test run I did get the rush I was after but it was short lived, but after reading the bumf I realised I was on a standard setting and had 3 more power settings to play with and 3 more power curves to try - so guess what I'll be doing this afternoon! I'm running a sportive van 1.7cdti so it not neck breaking speeds I'm playing with but good fun playing what I've got!! I'll keep you informed of my findings....
    fishing, bikes, golf & soapy t*t w**ks - what more can a man need

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    stephenmelody's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,435
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what engine you got? it's an absolute bugger to fit on a 1.9 8v!!!

    Allrounder, still not found those extra 50 horses?!!
    1.9 cdti (120) black ASH
    Wanted: Black VXR Grille!!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    allrounder's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    found a few of them but not the full 50 yet!!
    fishing, bikes, golf & soapy t*t w**ks - what more can a man need

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe John's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Drives
    Astra 1.9 cdti xpack
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    2,593
    Mentioned in
    17 Post(s)
    Quoted
    61 Post(s)
    If you have the z19dth engine in your car then it will go like stink when you up the setting a little on the red tuning box. Just start saving for some new front tyres

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I had both the CRD and the Eco2 on my 1.9CDTi. I preferred the Eco2, smoother power delivery and actually gave a higher power output on the rolling road.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    allrounder's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi mat, been driving today with the box on max power and map 2 and I'm very happy! you will notice a massive differance in your cars performance if mines anything to go by. i'm looking for reasons to go out in mine now whereas i would normaly find the rush on my zx6r!
    fishing, bikes, golf & soapy t*t w**ks - what more can a man need

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    sxi100's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Go for a remap instead - something like the REGAL one as you can also disable the EGR valve on the 1.9. A tuning box just increases the pressure on the fuel rail and throws more diesel in. That is why you can get black smoke from too much diesel going in. A remap is completely different, it adjusts many different parameters and protects the engine when cold.
    After my experience of tuning boxes I really wouldn't bother. Others like them so it's up to you. Most seem to sell them on ebay and switch to a remap system from REGAL. It plugs in to the socket used for diagnostic work and to your PC, then you adjust the things you want. Far more control and better for the car. At least you are not interfering with one part of the car and hoping the ECU will keep up!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Daryl@AAS's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thats nt all true mate. My tuning boxes adjust voltages and can be changed through 9 different maps. We have a box for any engine and they come with a remote nd lifetime warranty. And they are cheaper. Thanks

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    matthewdavis2009's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mines 1.7 100bhp, thing is with remaps, it gets wiped every time it goes in for a service, when vx update the ECU! Think I'll look into a remap from Regal!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NONE DTUK Tuning Boxes
    By munkie in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 18:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •