Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: stereo not lighting up

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    will..life's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    stereo not lighting up

    Hello all, i was wondering if anyone could help me as my cd30 isnt lighting up but my lcd at the top is ,but the stereo works fine but the buttons dont light???
    Any help would be appreciated thanks..

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    gazTD's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Blown bulbs. I had this in Kirsty's heater controls.
    Gaz

    No longer owns an Astra


    Bye bye VXR Castle Combe Edition - because it's done more laps of Castle Combe than most Bergs have of the Ring

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    will..life's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gazTD View Post
    Blown bulbs. I had this in Kirsty's heater controls.
    Thought it might be a blown bulb how and where do you get them out as it looks sealed??

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    gazTD's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you will need to remove it with a set of C pullers (can get them from Vx or Halfords), then disassemble it until you can get to the bulbs. Halfords should sell the bulbs.

    To me, it sounds like and excuse to do an LED conversion while you got bits taken apart
    Gaz

    No longer owns an Astra


    Bye bye VXR Castle Combe Edition - because it's done more laps of Castle Combe than most Bergs have of the Ring

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    will..life's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    A big thanks for your help ...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Gnasher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Are we talking about the CD30 in a astra Mk 5?

    If thats the case then they are all surface mount LEDs. It's not then just a case of swapping the bulbs as these need to be soldered in (and there is so many of them, it's virtually impossible for them all to blow at once)

    If it is a Mk 5 then there is something wrong with the CD30 (that is NOT the LED bulbs) which if you can live with no lights I wouldn't worry about. The only way to check is to try and get a test fitting of a CD30 in there and see what happens.

    However I have only done CD30MP3's rather than CD30's - I would assume they are the same though.
    2006 Astra VXR on 19's in Arden Blue
    ExhaustsUK Catback, Eibach Sportlines, DS Ultima, Roose hose kit, Forge recirculating dump valve, Full self modded SMD conversion

Similar Threads

  1. Interior lighting/ cabin lighting
    By amrit711 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-11-2009, 19:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •