Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Category D and other questions...

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Category D and other questions...

Firstly, hello all. First post on here.
    I am a student who will be living at home next year after enduring a year of BS from the travel agents at a rented house near the uni.
    I turn 21 on August 8th and as a result I'm planning to pick up a 2.2 SE2 with a budget for the car of about £3000 after getting quotes of about £900ish from Direct Line for insurance policies starting on my 21st for the 2.2 SE2 - sadly they won't even quote a price before my 21st :/
    I have had my license for 2 years, and only had a car for the first 4 months (as a result of selling it for beer funds in my freshers year haha) and as a result no NCB.

I have found an SE2 which looked to good be true, 50k miles and listed at £2895.
    Having read the full info, it says it is a CAT D, but having looked at the pictures, there doesn't appear to be any damage visible now.
    It is also only 20 miles away, so what should I be looking for if I were to view it?

Basically asking what do I do?
    Enquire to him what happened, and if he has appropriate paper work to show it has been repaired professionally?
    And a few modifications questions...
    Basically, what needs declaring?
    The car above doesn't have Irmscher splitters and side skirts which I am quite keen on, would these need to be declared to the insurers when applied?

But, the main question is... Does anyone know if Direct Line (these are the only people offering me insurance under £1000) would cover a fully repaired Cat D, and any idea of how much extra it would be?

I don't want to ring them up about it as it means they will have my number and I have had problens in the past of insurance companies ringing upto 5 times a day.

Thanks for any help, and I look forward to being a part of this community when I eventually get the car.