Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Full Autoclosure for astra cabby

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    davemark's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    962
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Full Autoclosure for astra cabby

    hey alll has anyone done this yet .. i have it on my coupe at the moment and soon getting a cabby . where the windows go up when deadlock,

    anyone got one working on cabby so when deadlock roof and windows all go up without having to hold the key ... as i know it does it when you hold they key i was thinking once touch


    Dave

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Does it close the roof etc when you hold the key at 45 degrees like on the hatch/coupe?

    If it does I cant see why its so difficult.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    No reason why it shouldn;t be possible with a timer relay that pulses for long enough

    Steer clear of the 3 wire closures
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    There is a 8 pin IC called a 555 timer that can be put in a circuit so it recieves a pulse to start and a couple of resistors and a capacitor will set how long its latched for.

    I am in the middle of making a circuit so that a 20ms pulse starts the timer and the 555 timer keeps an output latched for 3 seconds.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    P200MSD's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Holding the button or turning the key doesn't work on our cab, but am looking into at least making the roof one touch up/down, rather than holding the button, and hopefully auto close on the windows.
    Astra G 2.0T cabrio sunrise orange mica graphite BK999's! 240bhp/270lbs/ft....will have AP 4 pots except Godspeed are totally rubbish!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    When you push the switch on the dash the timer 'should' be able to simulate that.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    P200MSD's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lee gsi View Post
    When you push the switch on the dash the timer 'should' be able to simulate that.
    I was thinking it should work, a flip flop circuit???
    Astra G 2.0T cabrio sunrise orange mica graphite BK999's! 240bhp/270lbs/ft....will have AP 4 pots except Godspeed are totally rubbish!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    davemark's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    962
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    intresting discussion going on in here yeah surely you only need something that simulates the holding the button ... i hope someone comes up with a easy box of tricks to do it i would buy one

    Dave

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    MeasorPaul's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hartlepool
    Posts
    3,198
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    iv been after something like this for our cab, sure one of the elec people can make something, i know the closure wire is yellow with a trace of red running down it
    Astra Coupe Turbo
    Custom Stage 3.5 330bhp 340ft lb VXR Pop Bang Map with Ignition Cut Limiter

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by measorpaul View Post
    iv been after something like this for our cab, sure one of the elec people can make something, i know the closure wire is yellow with a trace of red running down it
    And what does that wire need for it to close?

    Is it just a pulse or does it need 12v or earth on it till the roof is closed?

    Also is there any locking mechanisim etc inside that would need to be released?
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lost autoclosure instructions :(
    By Josh-HL in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-06-2010, 23:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •