Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fitting TC

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MikeMant's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,081
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Fitting TC

    Hi guys how do i go about fitting traction control?

    My car is a 2000 SXi

    When i removed some plastics the other day i noticed i had 3 plugs near the ash tray! I assume one is TC?

    What would i need and would it all just be plug and play?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If it's a 1.8 with aBS you already have it, just follow the how to for fitting the switch.

    Is it's 1.8 non ABS then you need to fit all the ABS stuff from a TC model (major work)

    If it's a 1.6 with ABS then you'd need to fit a TC ABS unit and run 2 wires to the ECU loom.

    But...

    the Z16XE wiring diagrams don't list a Traction control input, so it might not work at all.

    might try it on mine some time as I want to fit a 3.2 some day.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    MikeMant's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,081
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Nah mate dont have ABS! If its too much work then i wont bother! Just i saw the plugs for it and thought it may have been a case of adding a switch for it!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No you need the ABS with TC to start with.

    Then you can add a switch to turn it off.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    5853moore's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,194
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mike dont ur wheels eve lock up as ouy have all round disks ?
    Back in an astra and loving it

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    MikeMant's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,081
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark T View Post
    No you need the ABS with TC to start with.

    Then you can add a switch to turn it off.
    I dont have abs (dont think i have anyway) on the car mate, i just saw the socket and thought i only need to add a switch for it!?

    Quote Originally Posted by 5853moore View Post
    mike dont ur wheels eve lock up as ouy have all round disks ?
    Yeah have discs all round but dont think i have abs! Thought it was only 5 stud cars that have abs

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    1.8s had 4 stud without ABS, 5 Stud with ABS (and TC)
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MikeMant's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,081
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah mines 1.8 4 stud mate. Never mind

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-08-2013, 17:57
  2. Fitting a oil pump to z20let fitting diagram?
    By tfieldy in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 14:37
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28-11-2007, 12:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •