Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: heating blower switch not working

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    danny_b's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    heating blower switch not working

    have just noticed that my heater blower switch is not working. that is the first 3 positions are not work the 4th position does work. i have a 2005 astra club 1.6 twinport. an help is greatfully recieved thank you

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Turboshed's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,333
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it is the heater resistor that is at fault here, this contols the speeds the heater blows at, you could get a second hand unit from a scrap yard or buy a new one. I am not sure on the mk4 where they are located, but i think it is with the blower unit, behind the glovebox
    Probably the ONLY Astra Mk3 sitting on Corsa D SXI rims!
    And Now a Diesel on Discs all round!

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=162503

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    kevza's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a similar problem. My 1st 3 work, and the 4th doesn't.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turboshed's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,333
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kevza View Post
    I have a similar problem. My 1st 3 work, and the 4th doesn't.
    Have you tried replacing the switch or fuse? I am pretty sure that it is not the resistor at fault here, as that only works on speeds 1-3 the 4th speed is unresisted
    Probably the ONLY Astra Mk3 sitting on Corsa D SXI rims!
    And Now a Diesel on Discs all round!

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=162503

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    kevza's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Turboshed View Post
    Have you tried replacing the switch or fuse? I am pretty sure that it is not the resistor at fault here, as that only works on speeds 1-3 the 4th speed is unresisted
    Not yet, justy noticed it. cheers!!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    RobsAstra53's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm sure the resistor pack is on the fan assembly, the fan is directly behind the glove box which is easy to remove.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Turboshed View Post
    Have you tried replacing the switch or fuse? I am pretty sure that it is not the resistor at fault here, as that only works on speeds 1-3 the 4th speed is unresisted
    Yes that's what he has got the 4th speed and 1-3 doesn't work so it look's like the resitor has died and not a fuse or switch

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Turboshed's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,333
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by phil w View Post
    Yes that's what he has got the 4th speed and 1-3 doesn't work so it look's like the resitor has died and not a fuse or switch
    Read the thread before you post!. I was replying to some else (Kevza) with a similar problem, but not the same (1 - 3 work, 4 doesn't)
    Probably the ONLY Astra Mk3 sitting on Corsa D SXI rims!
    And Now a Diesel on Discs all round!

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=162503

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Turboshed View Post
    Read the thread before you post!. I was replying to some else (Kevza) with a similar problem, but not the same (1 - 3 work, 4 doesn't)
    Ah right sorry, I assumed you was replying to the one who started the thread , guess that's what happens when threads get hijacked

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Turboshed's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,333
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by phil w View Post
    Ah right sorry, I assumed you was replying to the one who started the thread , guess that's what happens when threads get hijacked
    Appology accepted. Also sorry if I sounded rude, heh and yeah, threads can often get hijacked
    Probably the ONLY Astra Mk3 sitting on Corsa D SXI rims!
    And Now a Diesel on Discs all round!

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=162503

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Heating/blower/vents not working when engine is on
    By LewisYounger in forum Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-03-2013, 23:16
  2. Blower is rubbish! (Heating)
    By Younge in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 22-03-2010, 14:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •