Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Installing amp - Help

Hi folks

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to installing amp/subs/speakers etc but i'm willing to learn. I already have a Alpine ida-x100(which is installed) think thats the right name.

Anyhoo i have an amp - pro sound 100w - i know its a small one lol, but its just something to get me started plus i can always upgrade in future.

and this wiring kit:

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...egoryId_165626

I know how to wire the ground and live wires correctly but i'm a confuzzled as to what to do with speaker wires, am i right in presuming this is the hard part?? how do i know what speaker wires are what??

Any hints or 'how to' guides would be great as i've already had a lot of searches but i'm just wanting to make sure before i dive in at the weekend. Sorry for long post. also i have a 5dr if that helps.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what are you trying to amp? the speakers or a sub?
    1.9 cdti (120) black ASH
    Wanted: Black VXR Grille!!

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just the speakers mate, don't have a sub at this point.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ok, you'll have to decide where you're putting the amp, but basically, you'll have the RCA interconnector out of the head unit and the remote wire off the remote cable on the head unit and send them to the amp, the RCA carries the sound, the remote cable turns the amp on, so it doesn't run the battery down when the car is off.

Then from the other side of the amp, you'll have speaker connectors, you'll need to run cable from them to the speakers you want to amp.

does that make sense?
    1.9 cdti (120) black ASH

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)