Thread: Crashed The Astra :( Rebuild Help

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Crashed The Astra :( Rebuild Help

Well unfortunately yesturday morning whilst on my way to a job interview a damn civic slammed on at the 1 second i was skipping tracks on my CD player and unfotunately i didnt stop in time and heres the damage:

Now i originally bought this car as a project and intended on doing so much with it and this is kind of a big set back. Now the garage wants to charge me 700 to rebuild my front end. I really don't want to pay that and i have basic knowledge on body work so i intend on giving the rebuild a go myself but i was really hoping you guys could help me out with some things now and along the way.

I think i can handle the basic stuff like the headlights, bonnet, bumper but when it comes to the others i need a little advice.

Slam Panel.
    Is this just a simple case of out with the old and in with the new or is this going to require welding?

Cross Member.
    Again Is this a simple case of unbolt old and rebolt new back on or is there more to it than that?

Radiator.
    Is this a simple job to replace? and could you gve me some advice on bleeding and reffiling.

Air Con Unit.
    Is this an essential part to the cars operation or can i do without this? I never use my air con but i was wondering if it's needed for the operation of the rad.

BTW the astra is a 1.6 LS, X Reg 2000.

Seriously any help you could give me on this i would really appreciate it.

Thanks
    Lew.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The cross member and slam pannel are weld in im afraid, everything else is straight froward, you can do away with the aircon if you like but it would be relatively easy for that to be fixed also as you can buy gas refils in places like Halfords

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)