Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Car Cuts Out

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Car Cuts Out

    I had new tyres put on this morning, then it would not start after, then after about 5 to 15 min of driving, the engine just cuts. I then have to wait 10-15 min and then it will start again.

    I had a look at the plugs and they are white which would inply its running lean, but it was only recent deposites as it came off if i rubbed it.

    Not dash lights come on, any ideas most welcome.

    I think i could do with testing the fuel pressure, does anybody know of a cheep tester?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what kind off car is it mate

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Coupe Turbo (Z20LET)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have an 20lel it done the same i pluged in the snap on code reader and got codes for the imobiliser and steering coloumm module. my car cut out on me waited 10 mins then started again and now just keeps on doing the same.it cranks but wont start i have it booked in to vauxhall on tuesday.hope this is some help mate

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sounds like a smiliar problem, can you let me know your outcome?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    m5dkw82's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I know what it is....ner ner ne ner ner

    I had same problem and I did the pedal test and got the code P0335 Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Malfunction


    replace the sensor and your up and running again, easy job to swap em but fidlly


    Edit - my car started and ran fine from cold, as soon as it got hot it would cut out no warning and would not start until it had cooled down, inicially I thought it was fuel or immobiliser related and I had no eml flashing, I did the pedal test and got the code I then reset the ecu and did the pedal test again the next time it cut out which was about ten minutes later again I got no eml flashing but the same code appeared

    I bought a new crankshaft sensor from vxl and it cured the problem

    dont confuse it with the cam position sensor like I did. Your crankshaft sensor is down the front of the engine block left hand side, out of sight but still accessable
    End of an era - She's gone to a good home

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by m5dkw82 View Post
    I know what it is....ner ner ne ner ner

    I had same problem and I did the pedal test and got the code P0335 Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Malfunction


    replace the sensor and your up and running again, easy job to swap em but fidlly
    yeah i got told about that as well mate you would have to see if you can get any codes first

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    swedge's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    mines done that aswell

    turned out to be the fuel pump relay

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just done the peddle test and got the following
    0100
    0335
    0335


    so, does anybody have a part number for a Crankshaft Position Sensor?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    trueblue27's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_W View Post
    just done the peddle test and got the following
    0100
    0335
    0335


    so, does anybody have a part number for a Crankshaft Position Sensor?
    not the same codes as mine mate sorry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Car cuts out
    By paris in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-11-2008, 13:25
  2. car cuts out...
    By craig.linearossa in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-10-2007, 18:55
  3. fan always cuts in?
    By xxspudxx in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17-01-2006, 14:50
  4. If some one cuts you up what do you do??
    By A5TRA 59ORT in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 21-04-2005, 16:53

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •