Thread: mk3 astravan merit 17D?

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

mk3 astravan merit 17D?

hi newbie here . I have just got a 1996 astravan merit 1.7D it has a black tappet cover 101000 on the clock no history . Now its my first diesel how are these motors ? Also are there any common problems with these cars also will it have a cat converter? Any help or advice would be appreciated

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Hi Andrew,

Just wondering which engine you have. Does the black tappet cover have "DIESEL" or "TURBO" written on it. If it says "DIESEL" and has the injector pump and injectors up front, it would be the GM engine. The one that says "TURBO" is the Isuzu engine, which some people say is better. I'm sold on diesels now, but don't expect either to be as powerful or responsive as petrol engines.

On the Isuzu you should be able to find the engine number embossed into the cylinder block on the flange of the injection pump. On the GM its embossed into the engine block down near the dipstick where it joins with the transmission.

From what I've read here and on other forums, there isn't really anything you can do in the way of tuning the GM engine, but there are things you can do to tune the Isuzu.

I did have the injectors serviced on my GM engine - that's something you can't really do properly yourself and the original nozzles were rather burned out. Also had the cambelt done when I first got the car. Other than that I've just been keeping up with changing all the fluids, rebuilt the alternator, installed new belts and a number of new gaskets and oil seals.

There should be a catalytic converter unless somebody has removed it.

Cheers, Paul

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Hi again Andrew,